We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do a lot to make it better, and expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn on Madeline Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Pointe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn on Madeline Island
Save
You added The Inn on Madeline Island to your Saves list
PO Box 93, La Pointe, WI 54850   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Pointe
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Could do a lot to make it better, and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Pros are below. Cons are printed first. All cons are fixable, and if they were fixed, it would make this place pretty nice. Albeit a bit expensive still. Importantly, only rent the "A" units.

On the website it says that all units have a full kitchen... but "C" units do not. They are attached to the "B" units ("B" and "C" units together are the "A" units.) "C" units are side hotel rooms, just a room, with no kitchen. They do not have kitchens and they don't have good views of the lake. Additionally, the doors between "C" and "B" units are just that: doors, with spaces underneath. You will hear everything your neighbors say.

Gas grills did not work and were not used by anyone once in the five days we were there. That really puts a damper on your BBQ plans. Another hapless vacationer must have purchased a small charcoal grill and left it. We used that. I assume the gas grill has been out of business for some time because the charcoal grill was well-used.

There was mildew on the shower curtain and it smelled terrible in the room.

Pros: Nice large space, right on the shore (great sunsets), very close to downtown, pool and hot tub, staff is pleasant (although the manager was annoyed that I didn't understand their bizarre room system because I rented a "C" thinking I had a full kitchen).

Again, this is a nice place. But only, only rent the "A" units.

Room Tip: Only only stay in an "A" unit - the combination of "B" and "C" units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I will keep this short. Stayed here the last weekend of June. The condo unit smelled of nasty burnt rubber. When I inquired about switching units I was asked to pay more for the upgrade. I declined and was sent back to the rental with a half burnt candle. After checkout when talking to the manager I was told the smell wasn't that bad and it smelled like grandmas house. First off that is poor service right there. They didn't even accept my complaint or ask what they could do to make it better. Instead they will argue with you and make you pay full price. This place is not worth what they charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the condos next to the Pub and have stayed there one before. Great location, great amenities and the Pub restaurant can't be beat. My only complaint is how hard it is to get a reservation and the nightly cost. You might as well be staying in downtown Chicago at the Four Seasons for the price but everything is expensive in Madeline because they have a few short months to make their annual money. Overall your best bet on Madeline.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We absolutely loved our rental condo at the Inn on Madeline Island. The large deck faced the lake and we enjoyed sitting out there watching the sunset. The condo itself had two huge sliding glass doors with screens out to the deck. The kitchen was everything you could ask for with full-size appliances and plenty of pots, pans, plates, silverware etc. The bedroom was large with a king bed. There was a loft with two additional beds. The family room area was nicely decorated with plush leather furniture. The bath had a walk in shower and a hot tub as well. It was a very quiet location and very restful. We enjoyed it very much.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the lake side. It is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed in the Lakeside Condos during a weekend trip in October. The rooms were nice and clean, and we enjoyed the walkout deck from our room. The Pub was closeby and served good food. However, the walls are paper thin! We could clearly hear the people in the room next to us, everything from their actual conversations to them walking around in their room. If you are looking for privacy (or the ability to sleep in late peacefully), I would not recommend the Lakeside Condos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in one of the suites overlooking lake superior on the second floor. Room was very nice, roomy, well kept. My favorite thing was the pullout doors that open the large jacuzzi to the rest of the room. Liked the fireplace, flat screen tv, pillow top King bed, large deck that had a breath taking view of Lake Superior from our room.

Not a lot to do on the island itself, not a lot of places to eat and food is not that great. But expect its more of wilderness and explore some of the beaches and state park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Inn on Madeline Island offers many different options for lodging. We chose the Wilderness Retreat as it was pet-friendly and I wanted take my dogs. We absolutely loved our cabin. We found everything we needed and were surrounded by wilderness with no neighbors in sight. PERFECT! We will definitely be returning again and again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn on Madeline Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Madeline Island

Address: PO Box 93, La Pointe, WI 54850
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Pointe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Pointe
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on Madeline Island, adjacent to the marina, offers 60 plus rental homes, cottages, condominiums, hotel suites and rooms. Beachfront pool, hot tub and sauna, Tennis courts and gift shop. Year-round lodging. The Pub restaurant is open April through October. Daily summer yoga classes and yoga retreats. Home to the Madeline Island Summer Film Series in early July. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn on Madeline Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.