We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No "Plus" here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
1 review
“No "Plus" here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Old facility, needs upgrading. Great place for kids in pool area. Staff helpful but seemingly overworked with out-dated computer. Check-in took 20 minutes - room key machine erratic operation! There was no "clean" TV remote. The staff is coping with poor support but doing the best they can. This facility is NOT a "Plus" facility. It is too old and beat.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    63
    47
    31
See reviews for
108
54
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Location was nice. We had the best salads ever at the restaurant on the Hotel property. Really nice view of the Black river. The room was ok. Had amenities if you wanted to use the River. The bad part was when we took the top blanket off the bed, it covers bototom haf. There was sand on the BED. YUCK Obviously they need to wash ALL Of the bedding. This was very discusting . They put the "Clean" Remote on top of a nasty blanket. Not a good first stay with the Best Western.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Everything was great, the food was great. nice view of river in back of motel, plenty of parking around motel, took our boat down, they have boat dock in back of motel, be careful on the river lots of shallow areas ,happy hour has good prices on their drinks

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Nice quiet location on the river, older structure but well maintained. With the water park it's a great place for families with young kids. The outdoor lounge is a plus on a warm evening, with a great view of the river.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I stayed here with my wife a few weeks back, waiting for our 1st grandchild to be born. I was less that enthused when priceline assigned us this hotel on a 3 star hotel offer.

Mid 50's couple at an indoor water park hotel? Reviews were not the greatest either, with worn down rooms & common area's the biggest complaint so I requested the room most recently renovated. Turned out to be on the balcony overlooking the pool area they call an indoor water park! Room was decent, pool area noisy but closed at 10pm. Very warm on balcony, great in winter I'll bet but not summer! Good room to stay in with kids though.

Now the good:
Excellent area in back of hotel overlooking the black river & french island. Loved it!
BEST free continental breakfast at any hotel I've stayed at by far.

This hotel was recently purchased & more renovations are in the works. I';ll be staying here again just for the river views, & awesome breakfast! However I will be booking a room 1st floor overlooking the patio area as far from the pool area as I can get!

Room Tip: families with kids book by the pool. Couples as far away as you can get. Smokers 1st floor overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We booked 3 rooms in August 2014 and were very disappointed. The rooms were very outdated and the hotel needs renovation. The cost of the rooms were outrageous for what you receive. This was the last hotel we stayed at on a 3 day trip and it was by far the worst and most expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My children and I stayed at the Best Western Riverfront Hotel for an overnight on our way West. The one water slide into the pool was enough to keep my kids happy for quite a while. The room was average, but could have been cleaner. There was random hair in the bathroom, on the counter and floor. The bed linens felt old and worn. The walls were quite thin, and we could hear everything the family next to us said, both very late at night, and very early in the morning. For the price, this was a great place to stay the night. There was an extra charge for breakfast on the weekend...which I did not like. There was a beautiful view of the river from our room.

Room Tip: There are rooms around the pool, and you can hear the noise. If you don't have children, or don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. This La Crosse hotel, nestled along the shores of Black River, also features rooms specifically for Best Western Rewards members complete with work desk, complimentary breakfast Monday thru Friday and free daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.