We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel on the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“hotel on the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

stayed at the bw for a wedding. went up a night early to have some alone time with wife. Hotel is right on the river, with some rooms having river views. Also some first floor rooms have patio doors that let you sit outside enjoying the view. Our room was fairly decent, good sized room with king bed and what seemed to be "newer" furniture. hotel has a nice indoor pool area with a waterslide for kids. there is a large outdoor area with a deck and steps to a dock, beach volleyball area, and beach area on the river. There is also a nice full service tiki bar on the deck, this was really nice to hang out on in the evenings. The restaurant has good burgers. All in all I did not regret staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    86
    66
    49
    33
See reviews for
113
54
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

this hotel has the potential to be a fantastic place if they were to spend some money fixing the aging exterior walkways stairs to the river and the patio bar ( potential to be a gold mine) the room was great ( king suite with jacuzzi tub). The staff were excellent and offered free upgrade for Best Western Platinum Members. the food in the restaurant was good as was the service there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

excellent stay as always great breakfast, great staff. very comfortable rooms, good pool, hot tub, great location to any other attractions. stayed here before and will stay here anytime we are in kansas city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for two days during the week. I got a good deal last minute through Priceline so this was a great value for the money. We were given a room on the first floor facing the parking lot. When I called the front desk to see about getting moved to a room across the hall, she was able to accommodate my request. This room had a small patio with 2 chairs and a small table facing their outdoor patio and Tiki Bar. We were also able to view the river from the patio. The river offers a beach and docks right in front of the motel available to use by guests. Many reviews state this motel is dated, but there have been many recent updates. The room was fine, beds comfortable, and met our needs. During the week breakfast is included in the dining room and includes eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, donuts/pastries, bagels, toast, cereal and juice. I believe there is a fee of $5.95 on weekends. The pool area is nice, although we never used it, and includes a water slide.

Room Tip: Since there isn't an elevator, ask for ground floor if you have a lot of luggage. We were in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We chose this hotel for our last night of a long road trip. The room was fine, nothing special, and the price was right. The restaurant, bar, beach, putting green, volleyball court, outside by the riverfront was a real throwback/homage to beach resorts back in the day. There was a decent Jimmy Buffet cover trio performing the night we were there. We had excellent drinks and terrific fried walleye as we sat outside near the beach and bar. The surroundings and atmosphere reminded us of vacations in the late '70's and '80's. Concerning the free breakfast, we stay at Best Westerns a great deal and this breakfast was one of the worst. No fruit or yogurt.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This Best Western is off Highway 61, on the Mississippi River just outside downtown La Crosse. The hotel is located on a typical retail strip, with plenty of parking. We didn't look at the riverfront area, outdoor pool, or restaurant, and just used the place to sleep and have breakfast. I noticed a small gym - including an elliptical and a few other pieces of equipment - but didn't use it.

Rooms appear to have been refurbished recently, and are above-average for this price range. WiFi worked very well, and the shower was excellent.

Our room was next to a large indoor pool area under a greenhouse-style roof. The pool is very popular with children and families. Pool activity quieted down by around 10 PM, and started up again at about 8:30 AM. We weren't bothered by the noise, but visitors should be aware - the motel would be great for families, but might not be the best choice if you're looking for a quiet stay away from small children. The hotel has a vague "holiday resort" feeling (at least in the summer...), and seems to attract quite a few families and groups.

There is a decent breakfast spread, including eggs and sausage. Service is very friendly.

Because of the riverfront location and amenities, this Best Western has more character than a typical roadside motel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

i enjoy staying different places when on the road. this was a nice place. Very friendly folks. bed was great. Had no trouble sleeping. Price was worth it,. Right off the highway so easy to find.I also like the fact there is a work out room to get the day off right

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. This La Crosse hotel, nestled along the shores of Black River, also features rooms specifically for Best Western Rewards members complete with work desk, complimentary breakfast Monday thru Friday and free daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.