We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No elevator no custumer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No elevator no custumer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We came to this hotel for a convention. When we checked in, the manager and staff were busy flirting with a guy behind the desk. My husband has a cane his disability is obvious. No one told us there were no elevators. What hotel doesn't have an elevator? And if not why put someone on the second floor? The stairs were steep and railing difficult to grasp. I cannot carry anything over 5 lbs my disability is not noticable. When we finally finished getting the stuff upstairs. It was brought to the attention of the manager who was condicending and offered no solutions. I would NOTadv
ise this to ANY elderly or othets who NEED an elevator OR assistance.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• Management was instructed to provide all the information to our value guests at the time of check inn.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    86
    68
    50
    33
See reviews for
117
55
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oconto, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I spent the weekend in La Crosse for a convention in April 2013 and stayed at the Best Western Riverfront. The hotel is going through some construction and I believe I was in a part of the hotel that had not yet been renovated.. The room we stayed in (my wife and two children) did not have a working air unit. The shower was a bit outdated. The pool area was nice but the bar was closed for the weekend. Not exactly sure why but that was a bit of a let down. Overall, the hotel is beginning to show its age.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you experienced with the air unit in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had a good time. Our room was clean. The kids enjoyed the pool. Loved that the kiddie pool was nice and warm, rather than my little ones freezer while swimming. Bathroom/Shower was a bit worn/outdated. The pool is open until 10, so any rooms close to that are noisy, but I expected that. We enjoyed our stay and thought the hotel itself and staff were good.

Room Tip: Anywhere near the pool is noisy until the pool closes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Maybe this place doesn't have enough nearby competition. Several other cheaper motels are near by and this fit right in. The bed linens were worn, the fabric on chairs was dirty, the shower in the bathroom needed a tutorial for us to operate, and then water ended up all over the floor. The workout room had old equipment in disrepair...buttons not working, duct tape on the eliptical handle etc. There was no sanitizer for wiping machines down, and the "purell" container was empty. No air apparent, so it was very warm and no towels.
However the complimentary breakfast was very good. Remember to take your breakfast coupon. They had tasty "build your own breakfast sandwich" choice of various breads, choice of type of egg, and choice of meat and cheese. That was number 1, and there were 4 other choices from steelcut oats to eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns etc. THis is a sit down restaurant as well, so we were served by a very capable gentleman. Apparently there is another menu if you are not staying at the motel. There is a very nice pool area, with kiddie pool, larger pool with water slide, and a hot tub.
I would stay there again, and hope they can get around to upgrading a few things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is poor shape from outside to inside it needs some updating, rooms are old and dirty. The pool needs to be cleaned desperately...in the kiddie pool there are piles of sand and dirt everywhere! This really isn't a family friendly place to stay with young children...rooms have absolutely no sound proofing, very very loud, you can perfectly hear the conversation next door, woke my baby up many times through out the night. Also no information about pool, restaurant or the area available in the room to view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Pool staff received additional training in keeping the pool properly clean.

• Management was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

• Management was instructed to put the instruction about the pool and the restaurant.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We took the kids swimming for a couple of days over spring break from school. We all had a great time. The room was fresh and clean and very close to the pool area. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was also very good. When the kids saw the size of the pancakes their eyes got so big and I knew they were not going to be able to finish all the food. This hotel is right on the Mississippi river and we were able to watch eagles standing on the ice right from out room. I wish I would thought ahead and brought along binoculars.
The pool is just right for our kids being 7 and 8 years old. The hot tub was a great place to watch the kids from… that is when we were not in the pool ourselves. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and we look forward to doing it again. Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashotah, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I failed to experience the "Plus" of a Best Western. It was OK but not a plus; it didn't meet or exceed my expectations. Get a buffet breakfast. The quality of the scrambled eggs and toast was very weak.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. This La Crosse hotel, nestled along the shores of Black River, also features rooms specifically for Best Western Rewards members complete with work desk, complimentary breakfast Monday thru Friday and free daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.