We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Best Western” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Mediocre Best Western”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Maybe this place doesn't have enough nearby competition. Several other cheaper motels are near by and this fit right in. The bed linens were worn, the fabric on chairs was dirty, the shower in the bathroom needed a tutorial for us to operate, and then water ended up all over the floor. The workout room had old equipment in disrepair...buttons not working, duct tape on the eliptical handle etc. There was no sanitizer for wiping machines down, and the "purell" container was empty. No air apparent, so it was very warm and no towels.
However the complimentary breakfast was very good. Remember to take your breakfast coupon. They had tasty "build your own breakfast sandwich" choice of various breads, choice of type of egg, and choice of meat and cheese. That was number 1, and there were 4 other choices from steelcut oats to eggs, pancakes, hashbrowns etc. THis is a sit down restaurant as well, so we were served by a very capable gentleman. Apparently there is another menu if you are not staying at the motel. There is a very nice pool area, with kiddie pool, larger pool with water slide, and a hot tub.
I would stay there again, and hope they can get around to upgrading a few things.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    77
    61
    46
    30
See reviews for
101
52
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is poor shape from outside to inside it needs some updating, rooms are old and dirty. The pool needs to be cleaned desperately...in the kiddie pool there are piles of sand and dirt everywhere! This really isn't a family friendly place to stay with young children...rooms have absolutely no sound proofing, very very loud, you can perfectly hear the conversation next door, woke my baby up many times through out the night. Also no information about pool, restaurant or the area available in the room to view.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Pool staff received additional training in keeping the pool properly clean.

• Management was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be thoughtful of their fellow guests.

• Management was instructed to put the instruction about the pool and the restaurant.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We took the kids swimming for a couple of days over spring break from school. We all had a great time. The room was fresh and clean and very close to the pool area. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the restaurant. The service was excellent and the food was also very good. When the kids saw the size of the pancakes their eyes got so big and I knew they were not going to be able to finish all the food. This hotel is right on the Mississippi river and we were able to watch eagles standing on the ice right from out room. I wish I would thought ahead and brought along binoculars.
The pool is just right for our kids being 7 and 8 years old. The hot tub was a great place to watch the kids from… that is when we were not in the pool ourselves. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and we look forward to doing it again. Thanks Best Western!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashotah, Wisconsin, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I failed to experience the "Plus" of a Best Western. It was OK but not a plus; it didn't meet or exceed my expectations. Get a buffet breakfast. The quality of the scrambled eggs and toast was very weak.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We found the pool side room we were in was out of date, the beds were old and in need of replacing, and the room needed a good cleaning around the edges. However, the restaurant and lounge had excellent food and drinks, as well as great servers! They made the stay very enjoyable in spite of the condition of the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Woke up at 1:30 with hands wrapped around my neck - Someone screaming "Help me help me". Heart pounding a million miles a minute. when I finally turned around... no one was there. Electronics would not work, internet out, no cell phone signal, nothing. Something very weird in the room... so I got the hell out of there, when I opened the door a naked man was running down the hall. Went to the front desk, turned in my keys and said the room is all paid for, I'm not staying. Manager says..."I understand" and that's it.. (Who by the way was dripping in sweat.)

Room Tip: Don't sleep in room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your stay at the Best Western Plus.

We have seen your review and note this strange issue and apologize for the inconvenience caused howsoever.

In fact, we have never come across such a complaint earlier, but your review is serious to us.
We have engaged a professional team to investigate this incidence and guests can be assured that such a thing never repeats in any case.

We have checked and attended all the amenities and have checked all rooms specifically.
You can be assured of comfortable and secure stay next time. Trust us and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We booked this room for spring break for the kids because of the water park, only to find out it was closed. The bathroom door had a huge hole where the door knob should go, the toliet had of be really jiggled to keep it from running, and we booked a room with a river front view but were given one of the four lane street instead. It took 15 minutes to check in and I was the only one there checking in. The clerk was on the phone. The breakfest was good but the waiter and another employee were complaining loudly about their tips while we were eating. I don't know what happened to the queen size beds, but they were not in our room. Ours were full size beds, which is kind of small for two adults. This was not worth what we paid.

Room Tip: Call ahead to see if the "water park" is open if your children are really excited about it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplulacrossewi, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance was informed of the bathroom door and the Beds in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to the needed repairs.

• Front desk staff received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat our valued guests.

• I am glad that you like our breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverfront Hotel. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel

Address: 1835 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603-2104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this La Crosse, Wisconsin hotel and enjoy comfortable and affordable amenities convenient to the Mississippi River, the Shrine of Our Lady Guadeloupe and the Mississippi Eco-Tour Boat. Property is 100% non-smoking.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel where guests will be greeted by a friendly staff, receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable, full service amenities for an affordable price. Guests will enjoy waterfront, resort style accommodations with well-appointed guest rooms designed with ultimate comfort in mind featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. This La Crosse hotel, nestled along the shores of Black River, also features rooms specifically for Best Western Rewards members complete with work desk, complimentary breakfast Monday thru Friday and free daily newspaper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Crosse Best Western
Best Western La Crosse
Best Western Lacrosse Wi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.