We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a motel should be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welch Motel
Save Saved
You added Welch Motel to your Saves list
3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a motel should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a classic 1950's motor court on the outside. Inside, it's clean and comfortable, but little mid century remains in the room. But it was clean, quiet. No smells. No stains. Nothing broken. $76 including tax on a summer weekend night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
18
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ettrick, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Recommended motel to friend since reviews were good. Nasty! Nasty! Second night we decided to check out and stay at another hotel downtown. Went back on here to look at reviews again and noticed most of the reviews that give it 5 stars were created at same time and only reviewed this one motel. Obviously owner is making up profiles to beef up business. Definitely not something that's even worth being on top ten. Room smelled like smoke, bed uncomfortable, old furniture, bedding stained, old box TV's and have the old comforters that only the cheap hotels still use, probably only gets washed once a year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmotel, Owner at Welch Motel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
WE are really sorry that you were not happy with our place. we will take your complaint and work on it to make better. we usually try our best to make our guest feel like home and comfortable. I appreciate you taking time to give us feed back on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Management and staff were very accommodating, room was beautiful, very clean and quiet. Excellent example of the American Roadside Motel. The Welch is definitely doing it right...and the coffee was good too!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor Ridge, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Clean room, nice bed, nice shower. Close to downtown. Very reasonably priced. Owner operated by a very nice man. No frills. Does have hob and wifi. Free coffee in the morning. Nice place for an overnight stop

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in a small one bed room for 3 weeks while working in the area. The room was very clean from the start and kept that way by the excellent staff each day during my stay. I have stayed in many places, including pricey hotels in large cities and resorts. This room was as clean and fresh smelling as any I have been in. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Selected this place based on TA reviews. We had a 2-bed room. Small, old, mom and pop-ish. Room clean. Grounds are so-so. Some deferred maintenance. No common hallways or lobby, so no place to escape in middle of night. All rooms open to outdoors. Resident owner friendly and helpful. Comfy beds for us. Not so for our friends a few doors away. They complained of bug bites, but do not seem to have become infested with bedbugs. We had no problem. We stayed on a busy fall weekend and the price was jacked up or inflated beyond that quoted. "These weekends are where we make our money."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Junction, Iowa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Probably the cleanest, freshest smelling motel room we have stayed at in years. The bed was most comfortable, which gave us an excellent night's sleep. Room rate was probably the lowest senior rate in town. The staff was so obliging and friendly.
Will definitely stay at the Welch Motel, the next time we return to La Crosse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.