We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welch Motel
Save
You added Welch Motel to your Saves list
3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Gaylord, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I stayed in a small one bed room for 3 weeks while working in the area. The room was very clean from the start and kept that way by the excellent staff each day during my stay. I have stayed in many places, including pricey hotels in large cities and resorts. This room was as clean and fresh smelling as any I have been in. I would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
20
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Selected this place based on TA reviews. We had a 2-bed room. Small, old, mom and pop-ish. Room clean. Grounds are so-so. Some deferred maintenance. No common hallways or lobby, so no place to escape in middle of night. All rooms open to outdoors. Resident owner friendly and helpful. Comfy beds for us. Not so for our friends a few doors away. They complained of bug bites, but do not seem to have become infested with bedbugs. We had no problem. We stayed on a busy fall weekend and the price was jacked up or inflated beyond that quoted. "These weekends are where we make our money."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Junction, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Probably the cleanest, freshest smelling motel room we have stayed at in years. The bed was most comfortable, which gave us an excellent night's sleep. Room rate was probably the lowest senior rate in town. The staff was so obliging and friendly.
Will definitely stay at the Welch Motel, the next time we return to La Crosse.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundance Wyoming
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We are always a little concerned when motels have a lower price. Reminds me of a 1950's motel but updated. The rooms are very clean and I felt very safe in this area. The people at the desk were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable,it is as close as you need to be to downtown, the university, the state park, shopping, etc. Why spend twice as much money somewhere else? I will definitely stay there again when I am back in town. Perfect at half the price.Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We rented 2 nonsmoking rooms, but one of them had clearly been a smoker's room. Unfortunately, there were no vacancies so switching rooms was not an option. Other than the difficulty breathing, the rooms were fine. The bathrooms were in good condition, and the rooms neat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First Impression: I usually stay at a downtown hotel but decided to venture into the interior of La Crosse. In short, I am happy that I did. The Welch Motel is located off of a busy highways 14 61 35. However, once inside it feels very warm and inviting. The motel is updated.

Staff: I was greeted by an enthusiastic young man upon check-in. It appeared that he really enjoyed his job, which made for a fun check-in. Everyone I encountered at the motel was very nice!

Room: My room was beautiful. Very clean and well put together. I was apprehensive about staying at a lower star motel but gave it a chance because of all of the reviews I had seen.

Location: The motel is conveniently located near an array of restaurants, mall, gas stations, and grocery stores all of which are within a 1 to 5 minute drive. Walgreens appeared to be within walking distance. The property is within a 10 minute drive to tourist attractions like State Park and Granddad Bluff.

I highly recommend this motel and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
5.3 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#3 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 201 reviews
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#1 of 17 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
5.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.