We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY HAPPY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welch Motel
Save
You added Welch Motel to your Saves list
3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Fish Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“VERY HAPPY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable,it is as close as you need to be to downtown, the university, the state park, shopping, etc. Why spend twice as much money somewhere else? I will definitely stay there again when I am back in town. Perfect at half the price.Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    18
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
19
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We rented 2 nonsmoking rooms, but one of them had clearly been a smoker's room. Unfortunately, there were no vacancies so switching rooms was not an option. Other than the difficulty breathing, the rooms were fine. The bathrooms were in good condition, and the rooms neat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First Impression: I usually stay at a downtown hotel but decided to venture into the interior of La Crosse. In short, I am happy that I did. The Welch Motel is located off of a busy highways 14 61 35. However, once inside it feels very warm and inviting. The motel is updated.

Staff: I was greeted by an enthusiastic young man upon check-in. It appeared that he really enjoyed his job, which made for a fun check-in. Everyone I encountered at the motel was very nice!

Room: My room was beautiful. Very clean and well put together. I was apprehensive about staying at a lower star motel but gave it a chance because of all of the reviews I had seen.

Location: The motel is conveniently located near an array of restaurants, mall, gas stations, and grocery stores all of which are within a 1 to 5 minute drive. Walgreens appeared to be within walking distance. The property is within a 10 minute drive to tourist attractions like State Park and Granddad Bluff.

I highly recommend this motel and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had to stay here because it was the last place with a room because of the Irish Festival and we were just passing thru so we were thankful we had a place to sleep. No phone in the room. One small pillow per person. Tv was an old analog and sat so low on the stand we couldn't see without our feet in the way and bed wasn't strong enough for us to sit up in. Looks like it was remodeled but not everywhere. Not enough light in the room even with 2 lamps and 1 overhead light. No breakfast .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A very clean and charming motel. For us as foreigners it was a quite nostalgic feeling of how we imagined traveling in the USA. The owner was very interesting and interested. We talked long about a lot of things and felt very welcome and safe.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Like others we usually stay at the large chains, we are really glad we didn't this time. Kenya, the desk clerk, housekeeper, handy-person and just about everything else at the motel was so very helpful during our stay. The room was neat and clean, comfortable, and our stay was enjoyable. If, and when, we go to La Crosse again there is no doubt where we will stay. We will bring a coffee pot however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise. We were looking for a place to stay just for one night usually we stay at larger hotels but we decided to try the Welsh motel recommended by the locals. The front desk was extremely helpful the rooms were clean and a bench along with an ashtray was supplied front of our room we would recommend this hotel for anyone passing through lacrosse

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.