We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 60's motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Welch Motel

Welch Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Welch Motel
Save
You added Welch Motel to your Saves list
3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice 60's motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I chose this motel based on other reviews on TripAdvisor and was very happy with my stay. It was very clean, quiet, and pet friendly. It's nice to park right outside your door with no steps to climb, etc. There was a small refrigerator and microwave and coffee maker in the room.Breakfast is not offered but there are restuarants in the area. I would stay here again. A nice motel that takes you back to traveling in the 60's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    19
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
20
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was visiting friends, they suggested I check it out. Since it was close to their apartment I decided to give it look. The manager was quite personable, they have done an excellent job of upgrading a older place. The fixturing is quite nice and the price was really reasonable. I give them high marks and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welchmotel, Manager at Welch Motel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write review about your recent stay with us. I am really glad that you had good stay with us. we will look forword to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed here overnight and when we arrived at 4:00 p.m., we were able to quickly check in.. Found the room to be very clean and the front desk accommodating and helpful. This is a basic motel but has all the comforts a traveller might need such as a microwave and mini fridge. I needed a hair dryer and the front desk was immediately responsive. Locally owned and reasonably priced. It is located right on Highway 35, but has no amenities such as a swimming pool or exercise room.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the motel may be quieter if u want to open the windows rather than use air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Older motel but very up to date..clean..and lovely!!! We stayed here last year and looked it up again this weekend. Very nice!!! We will plan to stay here many more times...service is friendly and very accomodating!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

hi, i have stayed at welch mtoel in la crosse, wisconsin this past weekend and i must tell you it was great stay. room was clean, no smell, no hairs. seems like they have remodeled their bathrooms. it looks great. i really thought value was great because i found it cheaper than chain hotel. i did not need any breakfast or any fancy stuff like pool or hot tub. so this was fine for me. it seems pretty safe place to get away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at this motel for a week for a big fishing tournament. I found this hotel on the interent. Since we are not from this area there was no way of knowing if it was a good place or not. The previous reviews were very helpful so I hope this is helpful also.

We all enjoyed the stay very much. If you are a fisherman this is a great place to stay. There is room for your boat and an electrical outlet to charge your boat batteries. Each room door opens to the outside.. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the beds slept good. There is nothing fancy at this motel but the friendliness of the staff and even the other occupants made staying here a great experience. There were a few people there who come to La Crosse at least once a year and they always return to this motel. The rooms have a mini fridge and miocrowave which was wonderful to have. I recommend this motel and we will most definitely stay there again should we find ourselves in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

I picked this place based on all the excellent reviews. It is clean, pretty comfortable, no bad smells, and the fact that they take dogs is cool. The young man at the front desk was very nice. I like the fact that your car is right outside your door-convenient. As for the value, it was ok. There were a few other places in town that were $20 cheaper, and had a free breakfast. So, the value was not it's best point. I'm not sure it is worth $80 a night with no free breakfast. The rooms are pretty basic. The fridge and microwave are nice, though. The toilet ran continuously unless you pushed the handle up. The bed linens were stiff. The very bright light shined in through the top of the curtains all night. We had to put the blanket over the top of the window to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
5.3 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#4 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
3.1 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#1 of 17 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
5.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welch Motel

Address: 3643 Mormon Coulee Rd, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable, affordable. Scott & Rae Ann Elvin welcome you to La Crosse! We offer you the convenience of at-your-door parking, wireless internet, cable TV with HBO, family hospitality at a great location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Welch Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Welch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.