We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, gross fast food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Drive In Restaurant

Rudy's Drive In Restaurant
1004 La Crosse St, La Crosse, WI 54601-3418
608-782-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 164 Restaurants in La Crosse
Restaurant details
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, gross fast food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The staff and ambiance were awesome. I love the vintage look and service. But the food was sub-McDonald's--very greasy, very trashy, and misleadingly described in the menu. (For example, the menu stated "whole wheat crescent role," when what we actually got was a spongy wonder bread.) Also, it was a HUGE disappointment that we weren't even given plates when we ate inside: all of the food was placed splat on the table, so we actually had to literally use the table as a plate. A deceptively cute place to eat carnival-grade food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Family fun +”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Carhops on roller skates, trays clipped to the car window. Wow. Makes you think you've gone back in time, until you notice you're surrounded by minivans and SUV's. But the food is good, and like real drive-in food, perhaps a bit messy. Chili dogs, fries, rings and ice cream all good. Only thing missing was 50's/60's music.....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fifty-Fifty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a cheeseburger (good), pizza burger (terrible), root beer (yum) and strawberry shake (runny). 2/4 ... not a good average. Quick delivery by carhops on roller skates.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun local place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a great local Icon. Fun drive-in throwback from the 60's with great food. Need a quick lunch while traveling? This is the place to go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Chili dogs ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went here expecting some yummy chili dogs. Not so much. Service was great, fries and onion rings just fine, root beer tasty. The chili was a gloppy consistency that didn't improve the dog.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Drive In Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Drive In Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Drive In Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.