We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Good Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Clean and Good Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our hotel room was a double bed suite room. Lots of windows, beds were clean, room was nice and had everything we needed. Large room. We stayed multiple nights so it was nice to have a fridge and small kitchen area. The price was high in my opinion...$179/night. I would have liked to have a few more luxeries for the price but no complaints and location is great. Quiet and nice park very close.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    50
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
74
28
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The first room we were given had a lot of long black hair on the floor and had a bad odor. Ryan was quick to give us a different room which was clean and did not have a stench. The rooms are very nice, it would be a great place to stay for several days because it has a small kitchenette and sitting area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear ConnieSe,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. I’m pleased you found the rooms to be very nice and accommodating. I certainly apologize for the unpleasant odor and hair issue you experienced. We will absolutely investigate this with the housekeeping team. Thank you for choosing GrandStay and we hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel, located at the tip of the action, so to speak. In walking distance of the myriad of restaurants and bars in the center of town, as well as the beautiful Riverside Park while still being tranquil.

Rooms are immaculate, staff is pleasant. Breakfast left something to be desired for me personally...but there is no doubt I have been spoiled at various hotels. I like fresh cut fruit salad and hard boiled eggs were over-cooked and if that's one's biggest complaint I should shut up.

Dog-friendly and although I wasn't traveling with mine this trip, that always gets high marks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The location: Located on the north end of riverfront park, convenient to the park and very walkable to all the fun downtown has to offer.

The room: CLEAN, soft towels, and comfortable bed. The full kitchen is great for families and/or those with longer stays.

The staff: Very helpful, accommodating, and professional.

Continental breakfast: Excellent spread (waffles, eggs, bacon, toast, bagels, donuts, juice, coffee, hard boiled eggs), clean/organized layout, and clean tables for dining.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and wish we could've stayed longer. I will return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very nice, spacious rooms located on the north side of Riverside Park. Suites are large and have a separate bedroom with a kitchen, work area and seating area. Everying was very clean and in good repair. In back, is a very nice patio for relaxation. The hotel is a very close to walk to the river or to visit downtown shops and restaurants. Breakfast is included and has nice selections. The only negative is that the attendant was very slow in restocking items and was not attentive or proactive in making sure items did not run out. She kept telling everyone that they had been very busy the day before. After staying three days, we knew there were many nearby stores to replenish items if necessary and that items that were low the day before had remained low.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

i travel about 10 times a year by car for athletic events in smaller cities/college towns. if there is an "historic downtown" i often choose whatever has been renovated for the feel of yesteryear improved. i need workspace as well.

this place is not a renovation but rather is a modern "suite" type place, of which i have stayed in many of those as well. the layout here is the best--from the door from the bedroom on an angle to the "living room/kitchen/dining room" area to putting the living room flat screen on the wall, not on some dumb table or dresser. the dining area had both a work chair and a kitchen chair for a practical office/dining room in one. there was enough room in the living room comfortably to roll out a yoga mat for pre-event warmups. i don't use the stove/oven or refrigerator, but if needed, they were there. the bathroom was clean and fine, but not luxurious.

in sum, the ritz carlton, this is not. but the layout is perfect and if you are into the free breakfast, it was fine if not the best on earth. the only negatives are they use those darn giant pillows on the bed that make one's neck hurt the next day--which i guess some people like--and the wifi was slow. but, at least they didn't charge extra for the wifi as do many. the hallway can be a little noisy as the baffling isn't all that great, but nothing out of the ordinary.

in sum, this place is perfect on layout and functionality and just fine, if not luxurious on amenities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

A 5 minute brisk walk fr downtown La Crosse. Located in the quiet, serene North end of downtown. The park and river walkway and beautiful museum garden is behind the hotel.
The room is a basic, nicely decorated suite with full size fridge, oven, stove top and microwave. Bedroom is separate from living area. No chest of drawers but armoire for clothes. Hot water and shower had good water pressure. Clean and fresh linens . Great breakfast till 10am! Waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, assortment of bakery, coffee, juice etc.
Our room had an odor that only open windows and fresh air would eliminate. We had end room on first floor...dogs?? Not sure. Will request no animal room from now on. This was our only issue. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! I’m happy you were able to enjoy our location and amenities we have to offer. We certainly appreciate you choosing GrandStay and hope to see you again during your next visit to La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Address: 525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.