We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Save Saved
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast!
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Lodi, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A grand stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed in a one bedroom suite from May 22 - May 25. No complaints about the room. Comfortable bed. Full size refrigerator. The property itself was very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. A breakfast is available. Overall good. The cheese omelets were a little dry. I've read reviews about "thin walls" but did not notice anything other than normal hotel noise (occasional door closing and plumbing noise sometimes).

This property has location going for it. Right by Riverside Park (La Crosse Queen paddle boat tours) and The Freight House restaurant. Walking distance to the Historic Downtown La Crosse.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
48
25
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel is right next to Riverside Park and Friendship gardens. Both beautiful places for picture-taking, bird-watching, reading a book or taking a cruise of the St. Croix River. The hotel room was clean, comfortable and most rooms have privacy for parents of kids with 1-2 bedrooms. We especially liked the full-sized refrigerators so we could have lunch at our hotel and only go out for supper. The hotel is close driving distance to "grand-dad bluff' a beautiful site that overlooks three states and three rivers. The pool area is nice, a little small, but not that busy as most hotel customers are outdoors. Very nice place to stay while touring beautiful Lacrosse!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the lower level, especially if you'll be in and out a lot. First floor is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I guess I can't say in any city, but GrandStay Residential is my most favorite hotel in La Crosse, WI. I've also stayed in one in Mankato, MN. The two-room suites are wonderful! They come with a separate bedroom, a living room area, and a kitchenette. The couch pulls out into a sofa, the kitchen comes with a full fridge, cook top, sink, microwave and dishwasher. It is a great place to stay if you have kids or need an extended stay, because you can pick up food and drinks and keep them in the fridge or cook on the stove top. The hotel in La Crosse also offers free breakfast!
The location is off the main downtown area, but an easy walk to all the stores and restaurants. It is also located right near the river. Book early at this one because it often fills up!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear gidge89,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us! We are pleased you found our hotel to be your favorite in La Crosse! Thank you for choosing GrandStay not only in La Crosse but also in our Mankato location. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area!

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I spent three week nights at grandstay, all of which where extremely comfortable. I was impressed by the size of the room, comfort of the bed, beautiful inviting lobby, and pool. The gym was a bit too warm for me but the machines worked and that's all that matters to me. The staff was very kind and let me stay in the lobby for an hour or so post check out before I went to the airport. As I was traveling on business I'm not sure I will visit La Crosse again but if I do, I will certainly stay here. There is no need to pay extra money for the other hotels in the area when this hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Laura,

Thank you for choosing GrandStay and taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience with us in La Crosse. Please visit us again if your travels bring you back to La Crosse!

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend to visit family in Lacrosse Wisconsin.

Positives: Comfortable beds, nice breakfast, reasonably priced, nice location
Negatives: Extremely thin walls, VERY noisy of other guests you can hear everything. Front desk upon checkin was not very friendly, our room had a sewer smell when we walked in.

I would probably not stay here again due to the noise in the hotel.

Room Tip: Bed's comfortable but noisy hotel, thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our new beds along with our free breakfast. I apologize you found the walls to be thin and noise bothersome. We encourage all of our guests to notify us during their stay if there are any issues so we can resolve them immediately. We are here to provide an exceptional experience for all our guests and I’m sorry you left with a “just ok” experience. We hope you will try us again in the future, our guests are very important to us. If you would like to discuss this further please contact me directly.

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here as my normal go-to was booked. Have not stayed in a GrandStay before, and was impressed by the attention to service, and comfort of the beds. Overall a good stay. Negatives (not major) were hard to control thermostat, thinner walls, and strong smell of air freshener in room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing GrandStay and sharing your experience! We hope to see you the next time you are in La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After spending many stays in lacrosse at another hotel. My family decided to find a hotel with a pool and downtown. Our stay was great and made our family time together fun. The pool/hot tub area was very tiny but clean. Beds were comfortable, room was clean, and layout of room was great. Breakfast was well stocked and staff very friendly! Our only request is to somehow make it known to guests that silverware/dinnerware is not stored in the cupboard but instead the dishwasher. We discovered this too late. We will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting with family. I apologize you were not aware of where the dishes are kept in our suites. We are in the process of ordering signage for the guest suites to resolve this issue. Thank you for choosing GrandStay La Crosse and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Address: 525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.