We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Never stayed or heard of Grandstay before our friends booked us in here. Fantastic room, and clean throughout. Great breakfast too. In addition, a fantastic location near the river in La Crosse. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope you will choose GrandStay for future lodging accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    71
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
103
37
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had stayed in a GrandStay in Madison in June and was pleasantly surprised by the suite, service and affordable price. The GrandStay in LaCrosse is even more impressive due to the location being right down on the river. Everything downtown is within a mile or two walking distance. We only used the car a couple of times. The suite is large with two flat screen TV's. Morning walks along the river before breakfast are fabulous. Pool is a little small but there is plenty to do in LaCrosse so we didn't bother to use the pool anyway. Did use the hot tub one evening. If you are going during Oktoberfest you are located right next to the grounds. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay in LaCrosse. Lots of great bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate your business and recommendation to others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After checking into GrandStay Residential Suites on 8/25, I decided to take shower. As I was taking shower, I noticed there was no rubber mat to place on bottom of tub and it was quite slippery. After shower, I asked the guest room attendant who was cleaning room across from ours, if I could get a mat for tub. She was very polite and said she would get me one. About 5 minutes late, she knocked on door and said there were no mats available. What ?? I said I would check at front desk. As I was leaving for dinner, I asked at front desk for rubber mat and clerk said none were available. I said the tub was very slippery and a rubber mat would be a nice safety item. She said other guests had mentioned about tubs being slippery. I told her if I fall in shower, I will be doing much more than mentioning how slippery tub is !! She said sorry ! How can a hotel be out of shower/tub mats? I think a simple mathematical calculation could be, if you have 55 rooms, you would have 90 tub mats to be able to switch out and replace ? This is not rocket science !
Guess things are run much differently in Wisconsin, than in other parts of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at the GrandStay Residential Suites in LaCrosse WI. As with most GrandStay's hotel is in excellent condition. Room was very clean. 2-room suite is perfect for the business traveler with a separate sleeping and living/kitchen area with great value price. Plenty of room to spread out work and prepare for meetings. Staff was most helpful. Hotel has excellent locations right along the Mississippi, walking distances from parks. Great place to make you feel a little bit "at home" when on the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable with plenty of room. Continential breakfast was very nice. We arrived with a group of motorcycles so it was a convenient location to park the bikes and walk to the downtown bars for evening entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
twin lakes, wi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Trip was for a friend's re-union weekend. We reserved a wheelchair accessible suit with a roll-in shower. Surprised that the room was on the 4th floor.The overall floor space of the bathroom was spacious. The roll-in shower stall was small but had a drop down seat. There was no hand-held shower head. There was basically no counter space in the bathroom. There was a small shelf above the sink but not functional and blocked the view of the mirror. There was only one bed in the room and only the left side of the bed could be accessed by wheelchair. (The bed was very firm.) The kitchen area was fairly spacious with a sink, stove burner, dishwasher and a very small dorm sized refrigerator. The facility had a very small swimming pool and hot tub - both of which had a power lift for getting in/out of the water. The facility did not have any automatic door entrances which was a hassle. (the front door entry consisted of two sets of doors.) The continental b-fast was average - nothing out of the ordinary. The facility did allow pets. Front desk staff did not seem to go out of their way to make accommodations. Facility is conveniently located near the river walk and downtown La Crosse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We booked Grandstay because of its number 1 rating on Tripadvisor.It is a nice property, conveniently located on La Crosse's waterfront, next to Riverside Park.Our standard suite room was fine,clean,nicely appointed,and big enough to be comfortable in.My issues:

-no exhaust fan in bathroom,a nice $110+ a night room should include an exhaust fan in the bathroom!

-pool and hot tub are a joke,we have never seen ones this small!

-breakfast area is small and cramped,breakfast was fine though

-kind of loud,but quieted down nicely after 10 pm

No dealbreakers here,but definitely some things that need improvement,especially for the number 1 hotel in La Crosse...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing GrandStay. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate the time given to review your stay. I’m pleased you enjoyed the location, suite type and cleanliness. I apologize you did not find the pool and breakfast area accommodating in size. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is a silent fan wired to the light switch. Operation of the exhaust fans have recently been inspected however if you had time to reach out to me and provide me with the suite number we can look specifically at this suite. We do our very best to exceed guest expectations and all of your comments are appreciated and shared with the entire La Crosse GrandStay Team.

With Hospitality,
Kristina Conca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Crosse
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#1 of 17 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
2.5 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#4 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
#5 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Address: 525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.