We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Driving to the hotel we were a little concerned where it was located (a few building we passed by looked run down) but by the time we got to it was fine. We were there for only 12 hours so didn't utilize the kitchen area, but it would be nice if you needed it. Despite having to sleep on a so-so hide-a-bed, my teens liked having their own TV to watch and we could shut the bedroom door and watch our TV. The breakfast had a good selection, not great, but can't complain when it's free. Also, has free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We would like to announce last week we installed brand new sofa sleepers and chairs in every guest suite. We are very excited about the new furniture and look forward to guest feedback. Thank you for choosing GrandStay!

Kristina Conca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    62
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
90
36
6
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

After checking in to a shady motel across town and being horrified by the accommodations, we checked into the Grandstay Suites in LaCrosse. The rooms are spacious and very clean. It was a last minute check in so we received the last room with two beds. The beds were big and comfortable. There were extra pillows in the closet. A full kitchen with dishwasher, stove, microwave, full size fridge, and flatware. Nice big bathroom was great. Could have had a better shower head.

The flat screen TV with HBO was fantastic as was the couch and coffee table for relaxing after our long day.

It was a short walk to the LaCrosse Center and many area restaurants.

The pool was small but very clean. The hot tub was also small but very relaxing and clean.

The complimentary breakfast was better than average and even though the hotel was at maximum occupancy it wasn't overly crowded.

I would recommend the Grandstay in Lacrosse to anyone. It was a wonderful stay. We will definitely stay there again. It was a friendly, safe and welcoming hotel that rivals the service and atmosphere of much higher priced motels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Grandstay over a weekend. Good location to restaurants. The lobby is very welcoming with a large fireplace and sitting area. We had a one bedroom suite. It was a little small, but very clean and cozy. There was a flat screen TV in the living area and another one in the bedroom. The pool was small, but my daughter enjoyed swimming in it nevertheless. The breakfast had a good variety of foods-scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, make your own waffles, bagels, yogurt. I could not give the hotel an excellent rating because unfortunately it was kind of noisy. The walls between the rooms apparently are rather thin since we were kept awake for a while by the guests next door talking and having their TV going well past midnight. If no one had been staying next door, it would have been a perfect stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel and interaction with our team. The dishes upon every check out are cleaned, sanitized and left in the dishwasher. I apologize this was not communicated to you. Thank you for making us aware of the internet issues you experienced. We certainly strive to offer easy internet access with quick connections and I apologize this was not satisfactory during your stay. Thank you again for your comments and for choosing GrandStay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed one night in a one bedroom suite. Clean rooms and pleasant staff. Bathrooms were stocked with bath and body products. Flat screen tv's in the bedroom and in the living/kitchen area. The location is good, convenient to downtown, riverfront and the university.

Couple of things that prevented this from being an excellent rating.
One, we had to search for the dishes which we found in the dishwasher--unwashed. Since we were staying for only one night not a problem, we just didn't use their dishes. (I had disposable stuff along). But it did make one wonder how thorough housecleaning was in cleaning the room.

Two, their wi-fi was, how do I say it politely...bad to non-existant. You could log in and be connected but the speed was slower than a snail. We gave up using it.

Keep that in mind when reserving the room. We didn't use the pool area but the pool appeared to be on the small side. Rooms were quiet and as I stated before, the hotel is in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently spent 4 nights in a one-bedroom suite while visiting family. We stayed here last year as well. It meets our needs perfectly. The location is very convenient and the facilities are clean and well kept. We love having the living space separate from the bedroom so we can visit even if one of the kids wants to take a nap. The kids had a wonderful time playing in the pool. It is not very deep so the kids were comfortable using the entire pool. Even though the pool is heated, having the hot tub a few steps away was nice when we wanted to warm up.
They have a great breakfast with a variety of choices both hot and cold. Having the full kitchen also made it easy to eat some meals in the room. There was a good selection of channels on TV for the kids as well.
We will certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed overnight in a one-bedroom suite for a family function. Had our 1 year old with us - enough room for our pop-up crib, and the separate rooms allowed baby to go to sleep, and us watch TV (nice big flatscreen) in the bedroom and not disturb him. Room and common areas were very clean, nicely decorated. Bed was perfect middle of the road, not too soft, not too hard. Lots of choices for pillows, there were six to choose from! Fridge for baby's food, micro to warm it up. If we would have stayed longer, I could have easily cooked dinner on the stove. Our dog was welcome, so we saved on kenneling costs. Almost thought there was a mistake with our booking, there was no evidence of pets (fur, bite marks, scratches, etc.) anywhere in our room, hallways, stairs. If only the weather was warmer (we stayed in mid January), we could have played on the swing set in the back. The included breakfast was great, cold milk & yogurt, hot coffee, warm bacon and eggs, fresh fruit, and all sorts of cereal and pastries. We got a great discount with having family that lives in the apartments up the road, so it was a steal for all that was included. No complaints at all. I've stayed at both very expensive and dirt cheap places around the Midwest, and I'd say this was the best bang for my buck... ever. Great work management!!! I told my fiance.. can we just move in here? :) We will be back anytime we are in La Crosse!

Room Tip: Multi-room suites are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We certainly appreciate your kind words and look forward to providing lodging to you and your family during your next visit to La Crosse.

Thank you for choosing GrandStay!
Kristina Conca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just on the edge of Riverside Park and across from the Freighthouse Restaurant it is only in the most prime spot for the Octoberfest grounds activities. The room configurations are the best...whether the separate bedroom or the open configuration...there is room or multiple people to be comfortable and with a full fridge, micro, dishwasher and range you can preheated leftovers ...keep snacks or feed your family.

I never like the free breakfasts anywhere unless they are fresh cooked but this one is typical. Always comfortable and a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Crosse
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#1 of 17 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
2.5 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#3 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
#5 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Address: 525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#2 Family Hotel in La Crosse
#3 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown La Crosse our all suite hotel combines the comforts of home with the services of a grand hotel. Free WIFI, parking and Grand Start Breakfast included in all rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.