We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always my first choice....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always my first choice....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just on the edge of Riverside Park and across from the Freighthouse Restaurant it is only in the most prime spot for the Octoberfest grounds activities. The room configurations are the best...whether the separate bedroom or the open configuration...there is room or multiple people to be comfortable and with a full fridge, micro, dishwasher and range you can preheated leftovers ...keep snacks or feed your family.

I never like the free breakfasts anywhere unless they are fresh cooked but this one is typical. Always comfortable and a home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    27
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
43
20
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue Iowa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and her sister met for an overnight and wanted to do a review of this hotel: We were thrilled to have a "mini-suite" with 2 huge beds and a sitting area, kitchen and work/eating table. So much room we decided to stay in for the night and watch movies on the big flat screen TV. We found our beds comfy. Breakfast was average at best. Day and night staff very helpful. Best part is the location - at the end of a "hotel row" just a few steps from a "peace garden" and the Mississippi River frontage with walking paths for blocks.

Room Tip: Ask for a mini-suite
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you on your next visit in La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

To start for the price of the rooms it was not very big, open yes but roomy no. The first thing we noticed was a used hand towel atop the shower rod, clean-up must have missed it. The beds were ok but kinda firm. And in morning for the breakfast not alot was availible. On top of this when i opened a milk carton this morning it came out lumpy, three of them did. On the side note this was not the hotels fault. They were before experation date and i do not see how they could have known. Overall it is a nice hotel and very nice for price, however not exceding my expectations and will try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We strive to exceed our guest expectations and I’m sorry we have failed you. I have addressed the lack of cleanliness with our housekeeping team. I have also contacted our milk vendor to assure we do not have these incidents happen again. These incidents are not typical and we certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to provide lodging accommodations during your next visit to La Crosse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice facility, awful beds and pillows.Mediocre Breakfast. The rooms are expansive,this would be a good place for families. However, I haven't slept on such a bouncy bed since college. During my visit the service was somewhat mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The facility was clean and staff was accommodating. Breakfast was VERY average. When we pay this much for a room the meals that are provided are much more extensive. There are much better options out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. Your willingness to share your recent experience in genuinely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed for 1 night on our way through LaCrosse. Choose this hotel for it's location, value and good reviews. We had a 2 Bed Studio Suite. It was a nice room & we liked the large size and separate kitchen/TV/Couch area. Youngest son used the pool & hot-tub - it is quite small but we were OK with that, as we were not really there to swim anyway and just there 1 night. Breakfast was fine, they did have hot items as well as make your own waffles. This hotel along with being nice, is in a great location. Many downtown restuarants & shops within walking distance. Right next to Riverside Park for a stroll after dinner by the waterfront. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
525Front, General Manager at GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We certainly appreciate your kind words and look forward to providing lodging during your next visit to La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Booked based on reviews. A big mistake. If you are looking for a cheap near river hotel this is probably your place. But do not expect ANY service. Visited the Radison and requested a tour of a room....no comparison...stay at the Radison. Ron

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse

Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel La Crosse
Grandstay Residential Hotel
Grandstay Hotel La Crosse
Address: 525 Front Street North, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse to your Saves list