We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, but” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge La Crosse

Econo Lodge La Crosse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge La Crosse to your Saves list
Econo Lodge La Crosse
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1906 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Saint Maries, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was a nice looking hotel outside & especially nice looking check-in area inside. No elevator & kind of hard to drag suitcases up the stairs. Our room was right around the corner from the check-in area where they had a large screen t.v. with noisey custormers watching into rather late at night. Ask for a room away from the lobby if you want a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We appreciate the feedback, and will take your review into consideration in order to make our guest's stay with us as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    9
    8
    18
See reviews for
22
26
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After readings several recent reviews, we expected more than received. The room was adequate but limited in size. The room had a table available but only one chair, questionable! The temperature setting was found on the wall with a gauge for hot or cold and a temperature setting gauge. Turned out the gauge was only for heat. We needed to cool the room which we determined later required turning on a separate wall mounted air conditioner and setting the temperature on that unit. The room air conditioner was very, very loud!

The breakfast included waffles, two kinds of cold cereal, toast, English muffins, donuts, yogurt, coffee, tea, apple juice and orange juice.

The room was dated and in need of upgrading. The bathroom sink was housed in a cabinet style unit with empty drawers and shelves, similar to what you would find in a home, questionable! The room seemed to be clean and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our family just needed to crash for one night while traveling across Wisconsin and Minnesota. We found this place through good reviews on Trip Advisor and once again were not disappointed. Reasonable price so didn't expect a lot. Check in was easy and the staff had helpful tips as we wanted to explore the parks around the river in the evening. They even had home made cookies at the front desk - nice touch. Room was clean and convenient. Breakfast was better than expected. Can't beat it for the price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamara M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge La Crosse, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are very glad that you found your stay to be enjoyable, and would be thrilled to have you stay with us again. Please print out this response to receive 20% off your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

very nice place with great locatio for resonable price. staff was very polite and profesional. breakfest with hard biled eggs and waffle could start earlier, but again I am early bird.I will stay again when I come to visit my son in La Crosse.

Room Tip: theme rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black River Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Were in the area to see a comedy show at the LaCrosse Center and this hotel was only a couple of miles from the center. I booked directly and was able to send a check in advance so credit card wouldn't be charged. Got a receipt mailed back to me as well. Rate was very reasonable. Didn't make it to breakfast. Although didn't use the hot tub was open all night and it looked clean. Staff was very friendly. Room was clean. Bed was rather hard but the pillows were very soft and fluffy. Third shift front desk attendant promptly brought me the extra blanket and kleenex box I asked for. Room heated up very nicely. Didn't use the shower but looked very clean. Room could have been vaccumed better for there was some pieces on the floor and behind the night stands but nothing big. Location was great although getting back onto freeway was very hard if going back into town. A lot of food selections within close distance. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend again and if in area again will stay here.

Room Tip: Decent place to stay - if going back and forth to town recommend taking the back way out and using a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If I ever go back to La Crosse, I would definitely stay here and recommend it to anyone (unless they were very rich and wanted to spend a lot of money)!
The rooms were very clean and the furniture was pretty good for a lodge. The staff were helpful, though sometimes a little slow. You could hear noise from the other rooms, but I typically don't care about that kinda stuff unless it's horribly bad. The free WiFi speed was usually very good, but a few times it was too slow too use. The main thing that bothered me was that breakfast finished at 9 am on weekdays- the hotel across from it had breakfast till 10 am! It was good, though, that they always had coffee available for free. The place was fairly close to the downtown area and airport (about 10 minutes and $8 to either one with a cab). Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The staff at this hotel is incredible!!! Everyone is so friendly and helpful! Pete at the front desk was so accomodating and always smiling. The gal who was attending to the continental breakfast (didn't catch her name) was so sweet, she was right there to help us out and went out of her way to make sure we had all that we needed for breakfast. As far as the hotel goes, it has everything you need. Our room was well cleaned and had all the ammenities that we needed. Beds were nice, coffee maker, refrigerator, iron, ironing board and toiletries were all included. The breakfast was delicious (waffles) and the 24 hour hot tub was great. If you need a basic hotel room at a great price, this is the place to stay! If you are looking for something more upper class, maybe not, but it was better than some more expensive hotels I've stayed at!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge La Crosse

Address: 1906 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge La Crosse
La Crosse Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.