We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge La Crosse

Econo Lodge La Crosse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge La Crosse to your Saves list
Econo Lodge La Crosse
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1906 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice, but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Fairly clean, quiet rooms. Great staff.. Awesome Hot Tub open 24 hours, a real plus! However at $100 per night, a little pricey.. Would be a great value around $50 a night!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    9
    8
    18
See reviews for
22
26
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Place was good. It could use some updating in General but little refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms along w coffee makers meant the world to me. The whole place is very convenient, close to the freeway and the river.

Room Tip: Pizza place right next door -very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This motel has own charm and I am always looking for something different. I do travel a lot and have the feeling that we are being swamped w franchise directed ,SAME looking rooms. I stayed in Railroad room and I am determined to stay in all of the rooms posted on the wall right next to the Front desk , just for fun.
Came w no reservations, I was upgraded to the Rail Road room and very happy about it. I came for the business in town but sure found unexpected joy in this Motel right across the river.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Loved everything about my stay. For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I really loved the over sized Hot Tub. I do travel a lot and get little tired of little pools and mini hot tubs. I travel w my kids ( 5 of them ) and it is hard to make them seat still in small hot tub. Sure loved it. Clean rooms , pleasent staff -All what I am looking for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This days you get what you pay for.Econo Lodge had very resonable rates and clean rooms -all what I was looking for. In my travels I use to stay in upper price motels and I loved them . Their price started going up and service down . I decided to try Economy motels and since 2 years ego I haven't had really bad expiriance. This place just prove my decision right. I am not looking for the extra things but their room had frig, microwave , coffee maker and ironing board. Some things that I had to ask for, in lot of Upper Inns. They sure imperssed me w room and their cleanlessness . Right Choice for me -for sure.

Room Tip: ask for the Theam Rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I visit the La Crosse area monthly and I decided to try a new hotel. I will never return to this hotel again:( I stopped at the front desk and signed the normal check registration paper work. I immediately noticed a $1.50 safe fee. I asked what this fee was for and the receptionist indicated it was for the safe in the room. I told her that I wasn't planning on using the safe. The receptionist said that they charge everyone the extra $1.50 and if I wanted the money back, I could ask for it at check out time. (I know what you're thinking...$1.50 isn't a lot, but who wants to be nicked and dimed!) I signed the form and asked for a cart for my luggage. I was then told that they didn't have any carts :( I proceeded to haul my bags down the hallway to my room. I immediately noticed a very strong "air freshener" odor. I was thankful that I arrived at my room. I proceeded to enter my room and the "air freshener" small was even more pungent. It was a horrific musty-floral scent. I walked over to the window and urgently opened it. (It didn't appear to have a lock.) I was thankful to get some fresh air in. The room was clean but it made me feel claustrophobic as it had too much furniture. The vanity was outside the bathroom. The bed had five pillows, but it was hard as a rock. :( The walls at this hotel are really thin. I heard people coming and going all night. I had the worst night sleep. (After I shut the window the musty-floral smell came back with a vengeance.) The La Crosse area has several hotels within this price point. I would definitely select a different one if odors bother you or if you want a good night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge La Crosse

Address: 1906 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econolodge La Crosse
La Crosse Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.