We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone but not forgotten...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Motel

Guest House Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Motel
810 South 4th Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Gone but not forgotten...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Guest House is now closed for good. A great little motel but now it will be torn down to make room for a car dealership. It was close to everything and very convenient. Very nice owners and people who worked there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown Ma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The rooms were good though rather plain. Mine had only a small window facing the parking lot. Parking was close by. It was a few (5) blocks to the downtown party area and that was hopping with a college age crowd. The attached breakfast restaurant was good but had limited hours. There was an outdoor area with 2 tables and though not very scenic it was a nice place to enjoy a sandwich in the sun or a late night beer.

Room Tip: Try the pancakes in the AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

True, this hotel isn't the Hilton. But coming back from a road trip to the West Coast, my boyfriend and I just wanted to sleep. Having no shampoo wasn't a big deal. We had our own. There was a liquid soap dispenser in the shower. Having a spartan room wasn't a big deal either--we just wanted to rest up and have breakfast in the cafe. The bed is a little old and worn and the TV was small but we both slept fine. I didn't notice any excessive noise. The breakfast in the attached cafe is good and cheap and the host was cool--not sure if he was English or Scottish but he had a great accent.
If you're looking for a relaxing weekend getaway, I'd recommend a different motel. But if you want an economical place to crash for a night or two and you don't need lots of amenities, check it out.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Don't be fooled by the pictures, this place is a dump. Cinderblock walls, no box springs, strange smells and stranger stains on carpets, both in and out of rooms. No individual soap, no shampoo, no hairdryer, no wifi (at least when we were there.) And the 4 cop cars looking for the fugitives in the morning was the kicker. If you stay here, bring lots of hand sanitizer, absolutely everything you might need, and money for the coffee company downtown, as the coffee here wouldn't even rate as good tea.

Room Tip: to choose a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luck, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The motel was cheap and served our purpose for a place to stay. It was basically clean....clean bed, bathroom, chairs. Windows and hall fixtures had cobwebs. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There are no fridges or microwaves or anything extra in the rooms...very, very basic. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Downtown La Crosses' Guest House is a clean well kept economy lodging staffed by friendly, caring and accommodating people. I stay there often and think of it as my home away from home. A word of warning: If you go into the morning diner wearing a Vikings Jersey coffee will be $9 a cup. Earl of Wabasha

Room Tip: I always stay in assigned rooms facing parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days and nights and couldn't be happier with the service. Although we traveled with approx. 35 people, the staff was more than willing to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible. We worked odd hours, leaving when the sun went down and coming home to sleep as the sun came up. The motel was absolutely quiet, allowing our vampire sleeping schedules to adjust easily without disturbance.

Also, I have a cat that I could not leave home, and they were willing to put him up with me free of charge! You can't ask for more than that, even though I knew my pet wouldn't destroy a thing.

Breakfast in the dinner was always served promptly, the pricing is phenomenal, and great taste. Made on the spot, and right in front of you.

The motel was literally a place to lay our heads (during the day), but the staff make it a place to return to time and time again. Down to earth kind of people that want nothing more from you than to have a pleasurable stay and good conversion.
I will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guest House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Motel

Address: 810 South 4th Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Also Known As:
Guest House Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guest House Motel to your Saves list