We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Guest House Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Crosse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guest House Motel
810 South 4th Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Moline, Illinois
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Don't be fooled by the pictures, this place is a dump. Cinderblock walls, no box springs, strange smells and stranger stains on carpets, both in and out of rooms. No individual soap, no shampoo, no hairdryer, no wifi (at least when we were there.) And the 4 cop cars looking for the fugitives in the morning was the kicker. If you stay here, bring lots of hand sanitizer, absolutely everything you might need, and money for the coffee company downtown, as the coffee here wouldn't even rate as good tea.

Room Tip: to choose a good room, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
1
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luck, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The motel was cheap and served our purpose for a place to stay. It was basically clean....clean bed, bathroom, chairs. Windows and hall fixtures had cobwebs. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There are no fridges or microwaves or anything extra in the rooms...very, very basic. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabasha, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

Downtown La Crosses' Guest House is a clean well kept economy lodging staffed by friendly, caring and accommodating people. I stay there often and think of it as my home away from home. A word of warning: If you go into the morning diner wearing a Vikings Jersey coffee will be $9 a cup. Earl of Wabasha

Room Tip: I always stay in assigned rooms facing parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed here for 4 days and nights and couldn't be happier with the service. Although we traveled with approx. 35 people, the staff was more than willing to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible. We worked odd hours, leaving when the sun went down and coming home to sleep as the sun came up. The motel was absolutely quiet, allowing our vampire sleeping schedules to adjust easily without disturbance.

Also, I have a cat that I could not leave home, and they were willing to put him up with me free of charge! You can't ask for more than that, even though I knew my pet wouldn't destroy a thing.

Breakfast in the dinner was always served promptly, the pricing is phenomenal, and great taste. Made on the spot, and right in front of you.

The motel was literally a place to lay our heads (during the day), but the staff make it a place to return to time and time again. Down to earth kind of people that want nothing more from you than to have a pleasurable stay and good conversion.
I will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We have used this motel for 10 plus years and always go back. Just completed a three week extended stay. We chose this motel because of location, staff, cleanliness, and the value. The staff worked with us to accomodate our extended stay due to the very busy Oktoberfest celebration. We have always and will continue to recommend this motel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

never been so grossed out. went to our room and had hair in tub and on the floor. pulled back sheets at 1:00 in the morning and there were blood stains on our sheets and hair. pulled back the sheets on the people next to us and hair on sheets. you could tell by all the wrinkles in the bed that the sheets were never changed. OK so it late and we ask for a different room now its like 1:30 and we have to hall all our stuff to the 2nd floor. pull back sheet on both beds and guess what.....hair.once again they were dirty. almost looked like bed bugs when we pulled the mattress pad back.Hair all over bathroom floor. and there was a phone in the room but no phone jack . what if we would have had to call 911 or just to call down to the front desk? Its 92 degrees out and they have NO AIR CONDITIONING in the building. ONLY IN YOUR ROOM. NO AIR IN THE RESTAURANT EITHER. THEN.. the so called manager is getting pissy with us as we tell him to give us CLEAN SHEETS,and he says in his cocky voice like he was the victom. "what do you want me to do about it?" Calling the state health inspector today and the BBB.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Went up to bike the trails. Right off of downtown. Spacious king size bed and room, clean, and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Guest House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Motel

Also Known As:
Guest House Hotel La Crosse
Guest House Hotel
Address: 810 South 4th Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guest House Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Guest House Motel to your Saves list