We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chateau

Le Chateau
410 Cass Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
608-782-6498
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 169 Restaurants in La Crosse
Price range: $20 - $75
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bonjour!Le Chateau is the perfect setting for your French dinning experience. Open for dinner, but also on special requests for private luncheon or special occasions such as tasting menus or weddings; our menu change according to the seasons and our French wine list is updated constantly.Come and enjoy a one-of-a-kind experience in our beautiful historical building where you will likely forget you are still in La Crosse!Merci et a bientot!
Fond du Lac, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The interior of this beautiful restaurant immediately makes you feel that you are in for special treatment and a special meal. The decor is elaborate and at the same time very tasteful. We were greeted and seated by smiling staff who seemed genuinely happy to welcome us. The menu and wine selections are excellent. Menu items are described very well so that the reader understands the various dishes. The complimentary mushroom cappuccino served before the entree is a nice surprise and adds to the feeling that you are a special guest. The presentation of each dish is lovely and the food is clearly also lovingly prepared. I wouldn't miss this restaurant while visiting La Crosse!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    4
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“An unexpected treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Like so many other places I've been, I chose Le Chateau based on the TripAdvisor reviews. My wife and I arrived at 5:30 PM (30 minutes earlier than our reservation) on Tuesday night and were the first guests. From the outside this is a lovely, well maintained old building. Once we pulled open the heavy wooden door, the adventure began.

We were greeted by Tabitha, a friendly server who was busy lighting table candles but cheerfully stopped to show us around the many beautifully restored dining rooms. We were seated in the Peacock room (named for the wallpaper pattern). The room had an impressive black marble fireplace, ornate crown molding, a crystal chandelier and a decorative painted ceiling, There were about half a dozen tables of various sizes. The tables and chairs were new but of period style and very comfortable.

We started the evening with a glass of champagne and placed our orders. For appetizers we shared the escargot and the gazpacho. Both were very good but I especially liked the slightly spicy flavor of the soup. It was clear to me the chef is not afraid to season his food. I had the beef tenderloin served over a crispy potato cake and topped with seared foie gras and asparagus and my wife had a seared opah. The fish was (in my opinion) a bit over cooked. Although the flavor was very nice, it was somewhat dry. The filet, on the other hand was absolutely perfect and the accompaniments were out of this world! We split a side of ratatouille and it was delicious too. For dessert we had a pair of blue cheeses with green tomato preserves and a chilled orange souffle. Both were delicious.

Eva the owner worked right alongside Tabitha to serve the five tables of guests and she was a delight. She is also very knowledgeable about the many reasonably priced French wines on the list. She helped us choose a wonderful Pinot Noir which paired nicely with both the fish and steak (no easy task).

If there were one fault fault, I'd say it was a slight lack of polish in the service (not including Eva) although I expected as much when Tabitha explained she was new. Honestly, I think she still did an admirable job of taking care of us on our first, but certainly not our last, trip to Le Chateau.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“If you looking for something unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is fine dining. Excellent service, food and wine. It's not cheap but very high quality which makes it worth it. Surprising La Crosse has something other than the standard steak places. The history of the home is unique. The food changes with the seasons. I have been here more than once and have enjoyed every time. it is a slower process so plan on it being an experience not a rush in rush out type place. Great for special occasions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining Experience. Wonderful French cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

It's amazing to find a restaurant of this caliber in LaCrosse. The food is outstanding, to say the least. Eva is an exceptional hostess/owner: friendly, helpful, and a wonderful sommelier. Order anything on the menu and Chef (and owner) Tim will make it a meal to remember. He is very willing to personalize any dish for the customer. If the food isn't enough to dazzle you, the period decor certainly will. The owners have gone to great lengths keeping the historic home looking absolutely stunning. A wonderful restaurant, run by wonderful people. It sets the bar to a new high for restaurants in LaCrosse.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

For my money, this is the best French restaurant between New York and California. Wonderful in every way, elegant but not pretentious. A great addition to La Crosse.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chateau also viewed

 

Been to Le Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.