We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend on the Mississippi!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend on the Mississippi!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Staff was great, view fantastic! We love the river view as that is the reason we come to la crosse. When booking, we could not get the river view but due to a cancellation, we were able to be moved. Thank you so much. When seeing our view, we called the desk and asked for delivery suggestions which was very helpful. We ate 1/2 of our meals in front of our big window with the view on our table by the window. We use the bistro to order food also and the quality of food was very good and will be doing this again at our next stay at The Courtyard. Can't wait to return. La crosse is on the top of drive able destinations because of Mississippi views. We love the boardwalk and River Park. See you soon Courtyard. Hope you have our favorite room available.

Room Tip: We love the river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear JEH65,

It's so great to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and loved our location and the service you recieved! We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed the Bistro so much!

We welcome you back to enjoy the view and La Crosse anytime!

Thank you again,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
34
51
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gales Ferry, CT
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed here for four nights on business. Downtown La Crosse was quite a nice surprise, with many interesting shops and restaurants. The Courtyard is right on the river, right next to the main bridge. It is convenient to walk to nearby restaurants and the nearby arts center, Room are usual high quality to Courtyard standards. There is a unique glassed in pool that overlooks the river, as well as a nice patio, which is a great place to sit in the evening and watch the considerable boat traffic (but also to hear the traffic noise on the bridge. The desk staff was particularly friendly in welcoming you every time you entered or left and helpful in recommending good places to eat. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the great review oompah Dave! By the sound of your name, it appears you should come back and enjoy us on a non-work related trip over Oktoberfest! We'd love to have you!

Whether it's on business or a leisure trip, we try to make all of our guests comfortable, productive and satisfied.

Hope to see you return soon!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Was 3 of use on motor cycle got to park under canopy room was very clean had a river view and was great. Going back soon to stay again looking forward to 2 nights this time going to see what the town has to offer

Room Tip: Try to get river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Gerald R,

Thank you for the perfect score and review on Trip Advisor! .

We do try to cater to our motorcycle guests and their bikes by giving them premium parking up front so we can keep an eye on their investments so they can rest easy when staying with us.

We appreciate our guest's feedback and are so glad to hear you'll be back for an even longer stay next time!

See you soon!

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Very clean, modern and comfortable rooms.
Nice views as the hotel is right on the Mississippi River.
Great check-in welcome, mice hotel overall, I would definitely stay again if in the area.
Now let's talk Bistro restaurant, can I say "train wreck".
OMG they were very slow and disorganized they were running out of things and it took 'forever' to get our coffee.
SKIP THE BISTRO
Marriott really has a nice Bistro concept, but you can't run a restaurant this way!
Please learn how to deliver on the food or get out of the food business

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Tmam70,

Thank you for the email note and Trip advisor review noting your experiences this past weekend in our hotel and Bistro. I'm happy to see that you were pleased with the accommodations.

I'm very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience in our Bistro. Our Manager on Duty did inform me that we had a good sized "rush" around the same time you attempted to get your coffee. The team did their best. I'm sorry you didn't see us at our best and hope you return again to give us another try.

Kind Regards,


Amy C. Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This Courtyard has a great location and a great,great staff. Parking is provided, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is not in the middle of downtown, but it's an easy walk to everything else, especially the convention center. Driving -- the hotel is easy in and out, and back on the road the next day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear PaulGK,

Thank you for your informative and helpful review of our property on TripAdvisor!. You are right on about our location being close but still quiet and the free, easy parking situation we have that is complimentary. I couldn't say it better myself!

We also appreciate the kudos you offered to our team. We pride ourselves in friendly, sincere and thoughtful service for our guests. I'm glad to see that's what you recieved.

We welcome you back anytime to enjoy our location, service and hotel!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel is very clean and staff was very pleasant. Patio on the river is nice and my kids loved the pool. We watched July 4th fireworks and it was great, they even had nice surprises for the kids. Service in bistro was also very good.

Room Tip: We were on 1st floor which made a nice short walk to bistro and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Chickmann,

Thank you so much for the super review on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your comments and feedback and are very happy to hear you enjoyed the 4th of July at our hotel!

I have come to find, working at this hotel for the past 14 years, it is truly the best night of the year for the team and our guests. Everyone has a great time and we love being here to serve our guests and enjoy the holiday festivities and fireworks. I hope your family can join us again next year!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The parking was free, which is a nice perk for a downtown hotel. It is located right where the river walk begins which is a nice amenity for this river front town. There are restaurants and river boat tours within easy walking distance. All of the river front hotels are expensive. The rooms were starkly decorated, very modern, but clean and quiet. One of the downsides is that there is not breakfast included in the room price. There is a Starbucks/Bistro on the property, but that would be a pricey option for a family stay to eat in the morning. There is at least coffee in the room, always a plus to start the day. We did not use the pool, but it looked to be very nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Minnesota42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on TripAdvisor! We appreciate our guest's experience and take their comments and insights seriously.

I'm glad you found our free off street parking helpful. I'm sorry you didn't give the Bistro a try for breakfast as we do have reasonable items like parfaits, smoothies and pastries available to purchase as well as a nice kids menu which is not displayed on the board. Maybe next time...

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.