We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, downtown riverfront hotels are not cheap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Minnesota
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, downtown riverfront hotels are not cheap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The parking was free, which is a nice perk for a downtown hotel. It is located right where the river walk begins which is a nice amenity for this river front town. There are restaurants and river boat tours within easy walking distance. All of the river front hotels are expensive. The rooms were starkly decorated, very modern, but clean and quiet. One of the downsides is that there is not breakfast included in the room price. There is a Starbucks/Bistro on the property, but that would be a pricey option for a family stay to eat in the morning. There is at least coffee in the room, always a plus to start the day. We did not use the pool, but it looked to be very nice.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Minnesota42,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property on TripAdvisor! We appreciate our guest's experience and take their comments and insights seriously.

I'm glad you found our free off street parking helpful. I'm sorry you didn't give the Bistro a try for breakfast as we do have reasonable items like parfaits, smoothies and pastries available to purchase as well as a nice kids menu which is not displayed on the board. Maybe next time...

Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
48
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Halfway to Chicago, with my cellphone charge depleted, I realized that I left my charger in the room. I phoned the hotel, and immediately reached Monica Berra. While I waited online, she sent housekeeping to my room, verified that the charger was there, and mailed it my home in Minneapolis. It arrived before I returned to Chicago. Also: great waterfront location -- my new cellphone screensaver is a shot of the bridge over the Mississippi (connecting MN and WI) that my daughter took from the patio in back (see below).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you so much for the great review on Trip Advisor! Monica will be thrilled to see her name in the post. The picture you took is great too. There really isn't a bad view from our hotel on the riverside.

I'm glad you got your charger back so promptly and we hope to see you again in La Crosse soon!

Thank you!

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This property is in a great location on the river close to many great restaurants and activites. So if you are willing to pay the exorbitant price for that convenience, then this is the place for you. Be aware that the bathrooms are the smallest we have ever experienced. We have stayed in places 1/4 the price and had much nicer bathrooms than this. The room itself was very large making the bathroom situation so strange in that quite a lot of space could have been used for the bathroom instead of all the dead empty space in the room. The room was exceedingly humid and damp. No amount of adjustments to the A/C would alleviate this. It was so uncomfortable that any down time we had was spent in the lobby to escape this. There was also a stain the size of a dinner plate on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear goosebeast.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor! We're happy to see that you enjoyed our location for your visit.

I'm sorry to see that you were unhappy with the price you paid as well as the room layout. Our price is very comparable to our competitors with the same or similar amenities and our busiest time of year is the summer.We welcome you back and please consider staying with us in the off season when prices are lower.

We will investigate the carpet issue you mentioned as well. If you have any additional comments or suggestions that you think we'd find helpful, please feel free to call me at the hotel directly.

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

An upscale hotel at the edge of the downtown area...unfortunately for us this hotel is not close to tourist attractions we enjoy, which was a disappointment. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon...not much to do in the downtown area near the hotel...not many good restaurants near the hotel (at least not restaurants recommended by hotel staff). Small off-street parking area, meaning on-street parking could be a possibility if the hotel was fully occupied. The Marriott Downtown is located along the banks of the Mississippi River...nice patio area for sitting/dining/enjoying the view of the river. A bistro is located adjacent to the patio...limited menu selection...the dinner we ate at the Bistro was excellent (much better than expected). A very clean, well maintained hotel. High end rooms and accessories...usual excellent fare expected at a Marriott chain. Highly recommended for business travel...for those vacationing you may wish to find a hotel nearer tourist activities and quality restaurants. A tad more expensive compared to other hotels of equal quality that we stayed at on this 29 day trek.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Trainchasercalgary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your comments and are pleased you enjoyed yourself during your stay.

It is true, weekends, can be difficult to find a close, yummy lunch in downtown La Crosse. Some of our best restaurants, such as Waterfront and Piggy's are closed for lunch on weekends. A great water view option is 4 Sisters Wine and Tapas, with outdoor seating overlooking Riverside park and the Mississippi. Please keep that in mind for a future visit.

We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your meal in the Bistro as well in the evening. Our location is perfect for a quiet evening of al fresco dining which is very limited in the city.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

LaCrosse is such a fun city in the summertime! The kids had a blast, lots of parks and great restaurants. We loved Edwardo's Pizza, Fayze's for breakfast, and the Pearl for ice cream. It was a great mini vacation, and the Courtyard was an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear JenniferCan,

Thank you so much for the perfect review you left us on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear that your family had a wonderful time.

We welcome you back to stay on your next mini-vacation to La Crosse!

Kind Regards,

Amy Penchi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, IA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

I chose this hotel based on it's location close to everything downtown and was not disappointed. A short walk is all that is needed to reach multiple bars and restaurants. The free parking and beautiful view of the Mississippi River are simply a bonus!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stopped off in La Crosse for food before but never stayed in the area since the first mile or two off the freeway looked run down. However I needed a base for a couple of days and saw the Courtyard available so booked it. What a lovely surprise it was as it`s in the downtown area beside the river in an area that is being regenerated. Great location beside the river and the staff were all friendly and cheery. Having breakfast looking out over the Mississippi was a great way to start the day. In the evening a quick drive across the river and up into La Crescent for a scenic drive along the bluffs was perfect to see the sights

Room Tip: Top floor, river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Courtyard
La Crosse Marriott
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.