We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could've been better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Burnsville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Could've been better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Including the outrageous 13.5% tax, we paid $237 for a king suite. When we arrived at the hotel at 5 p.m. our room still wasn't ready for us. When we got to the room, it was unbearably hot. The A/C unit wouldn't stay on long enough to cool the room. Fortunately it was cool that night and we left the window open. The room itself was nice, but the layout was poor. There was no curtain or any way to separate the sleeping area and whirlpool tub from the living area. At night we had to turn the fan back on to cover the noise from another room. Then we were kept awake by a mystery sound, which the next morning I concluded was the constant opening and closing of the dual sets of automatic lobby doors which were right below our room. At breakfast the next morning we got sick of waiting for someone to take our order for cooked to order eggs, and the batter dispenser for waffles was so bad it literally took several minutes to fill a small cup with batter. They were also low or out of several items in the buffet. Nice location, right on the river, but they could improve a few things. Would probably stay somewhere else if I was in La Crosse again.

  • Liked — Right on the River
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    55
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
48
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

I cannot say enough about this hotel... I will recommend it to anyone I know going to La Crosse. The staff is probably the most compatent staff I've ever experienced. From the front desk to the maid service to the bartender, everyone was friendly and helpful. The hotel sparkles - usually you can find a corner in the bathroom or someplace in the room that is a little "unclean". Not in our room! The decorating was very pleasant, the bed was comfortable and the bedding was soft and fresh smelling. We had a king room with a whirlpool and everything ran properly, there was plenty of hot water and you could see the TV from the tub (yay!) The view from our room (#321) was phenominal. This is the only hotel (that I could see) on the river. Sometimes you can hear the boats, but I really liked that. The hotel also has a full bar with appetizers in the lobby and you can sit out on the patio right alongside the river. It was just a joy to stay there - we will definately go again.
If there is a downfall, it's the location. If you want to walk to downtown, it is about 3-4 blocks away. But if you're willing to walk, it's no big deal. It certainly wasn't to us. I actually think the location is more of a bonus because it's quiet, secluded and right on the river.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2008

Nice location, down by the Mississippi, but a bit of a walk to the Riverside Park and the centre of town. Spacious room (king jacuzzi suite on first floor) - but disappointing that we were unable to open the French doors leading to the grass by the river. We enjoyed room-service from Piggy's restaurant (excellent food; huge portions) and breakfast (included in our room rate) was adequate.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, IA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We loved this place! The people at the front desk were friendly and acted more like family than employees. My husband forgot his razor and they quickly gave us one and were so gracious asking if we needed anything else. Our room was right on the river and we loved being so close to the water. We walked to a church downtown, and to places to eat. In all our travels, this has to be olne of the top spots. We will be back again next year.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Friendly and courteous service at the front desk. Morning buffet is nothing to brag about but the service was great. Rooms were large and comfortable......get the King Room w/jacuzzi. Walking distance to virtually every bar and restaurant in town. Great wine bar a feet away. All around good stay.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angele
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

Just pulling up to this hotel, situated on the beautiful Mississippi river, just below a bridge connecting La Crosse and Minnesota, it's pretty obvious that this is a nice place.

Getting into the spacious and nicely designed lobby was even better. I travel quite a bit and it's always nice to stay at a hotel with accommodating staff, beautiful setting (inside and outside the hotel) and a great location. I felt very relaxed the entire stay.

The exercise room was a little small but very well kept. They had some nice elliptical machines with attached TV’s as well as a stair stepper, a recumbent bike and a nice set of free weights along with a weight bench. I got a great workout any time I wanted (its open 24 hours, with a great sunset view of the river) and always went to bed relaxed.

Downtown La Crosse is very nice and easily accessible by foot or by car. There are a lot of local restaurants and bars within walking distance.

I can't say enough nice things about my experience at this hotel. Give it a try, I was very pleased with my stay.

  • Liked — The beautiful rooms and hotel grounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming,MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed there while on a motorcycle ride from the Twin Cities. I was told they were booked up that weekend so keep there number on my cell. When we got into La Crosse I gave them a call and they had an opening. The room was clean and smelled clean not musty or anything of that nature. The pool was clean and a nice patio outside over looking the Mississippi river. The hotel staff very professional and nice. We had the Jacuzzi tub suite for about $150 a night. The breakfast buffet was taste and was set up pretty good. One thing you have to try is across the street to Piggys restaurant, great food nice place. Check it out on line at piggys. We are looking at doing this again next fall for coloramma, and eating dinner there again.

  • Liked — How clean the room was and the set up of the pool area and breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Courtyard
La Crosse Marriott
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.