We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very scenic along the Mississippi River.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very scenic along the Mississippi River.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with friendly staff, clean & well appointed rooms and beautiful view of the Mississippi River. It was however, rather pricey. Also it is in great proximity to a couple nice restaurants and a lovely walking path along the river.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    65
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
54
10
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling through America for two weeks and have stayed at many Marriot Hotels and this is by far my faviourt. The rooms are perfect size with great desk space, beds are super comfortable, could not fault the cleanness of the room, staff are all friendly and helpful. We decided to extend our stay for another night as we love being able to sit out the front and look at the mississippi river while having a glass of wine. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night on our way home from our trip out west. I love this hotel. Beautiful, right on the river. We got in late and I asked for a room close to the lobby area, and we got a great room. Comfy bed, clean room. The bistro service was great and the coffee in the morning was awesome. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great patio to enjoy drinks and snacks while watching traffic go by on the Mississippi River. Very Relaxing. Rooms are good size and while food is available on site, there are good choices within walking distance or a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the revitalized historic downtown. Hotel sits right on the river for a great view and nice walking and bike trails. The area seems to be pedestrian friendly. There really aren’t any chain stores or restaurants. Only there one night so I don’t know how popular the bars and restaurants are.

I was disappointed that they do not provide complementary coffee in the lobby. You can get more packets for your room but that takes several brews to fill up a travel mug. Front desk told me with Starbucks in the lobby they no longer have free coffee.

To travel to a discount store for any incidentals, you will need a car. Most shopping seems to be in Onalaska which is a good 15-20 min. drive. There is the other side of town but phone app showed Onalaska closer. This is a negative as it relates to location. But as noted by others, the area is beautiful during the summer.

Check in was a little bit of an ordeal but the problem was resolved to my satisfaction.

Nice lobby/bar area that has an outdoor patio right at the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Even # rooms seem to face the parking lot. If not river view, ask for a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while on a business trip to LaCrosse. This is a well appointed, very clean Courtyard that has been remodeled to the new Courtyard design.

The location is great since it is walking distance from several very good restaurants and the riverfront. There is a nice walking / jogging path from the hotel, through some gardens, and along the river.

Service was good and the Courtyard breakfast offerings were pretty standard.

The hotel is a bit pricey, however, so it's more of a business hotel than someplace I'd use on a vacation. So my choice of 4 stars is more due to the $150+/night pricing... it's just not worth the premium pricing to me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot within downtown La Crosse, right on the river. If you ask for a river view I'm pretty sure you can get one for no extra cost. Looked to be recently renovated into the modern Courtyard style. Rooms are spacious and quiet and service was great. Walking distance to good food, running trails along the river, and bars in the historic downtown area. The only issue I have with Courtyard is their breakfast. The process of ordering off the menu or getting something to go takes longer than it should.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Romantic Hotel in La Crosse
#4 Family Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.