We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My faviourt Marriot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling through America for two weeks and have stayed at many Marriot Hotels and this is by far my faviourt. The rooms are perfect size with great desk space, beds are super comfortable, could not fault the cleanness of the room, staff are all friendly and helpful. We decided to extend our stay for another night as we love being able to sit out the front and look at the mississippi river while having a glass of wine. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
43
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night on our way home from our trip out west. I love this hotel. Beautiful, right on the river. We got in late and I asked for a room close to the lobby area, and we got a great room. Comfy bed, clean room. The bistro service was great and the coffee in the morning was awesome. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great patio to enjoy drinks and snacks while watching traffic go by on the Mississippi River. Very Relaxing. Rooms are good size and while food is available on site, there are good choices within walking distance or a short drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the revitalized historic downtown. Hotel sits right on the river for a great view and nice walking and bike trails. The area seems to be pedestrian friendly. There really aren’t any chain stores or restaurants. Only there one night so I don’t know how popular the bars and restaurants are.

I was disappointed that they do not provide complementary coffee in the lobby. You can get more packets for your room but that takes several brews to fill up a travel mug. Front desk told me with Starbucks in the lobby they no longer have free coffee.

To travel to a discount store for any incidentals, you will need a car. Most shopping seems to be in Onalaska which is a good 15-20 min. drive. There is the other side of town but phone app showed Onalaska closer. This is a negative as it relates to location. But as noted by others, the area is beautiful during the summer.

Check in was a little bit of an ordeal but the problem was resolved to my satisfaction.

Nice lobby/bar area that has an outdoor patio right at the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Even # rooms seem to face the parking lot. If not river view, ask for a king...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights while on a business trip to LaCrosse. This is a well appointed, very clean Courtyard that has been remodeled to the new Courtyard design.

The location is great since it is walking distance from several very good restaurants and the riverfront. There is a nice walking / jogging path from the hotel, through some gardens, and along the river.

Service was good and the Courtyard breakfast offerings were pretty standard.

The hotel is a bit pricey, however, so it's more of a business hotel than someplace I'd use on a vacation. So my choice of 4 stars is more due to the $150+/night pricing... it's just not worth the premium pricing to me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel is in a great spot within downtown La Crosse, right on the river. If you ask for a river view I'm pretty sure you can get one for no extra cost. Looked to be recently renovated into the modern Courtyard style. Rooms are spacious and quiet and service was great. Walking distance to good food, running trails along the river, and bars in the historic downtown area. The only issue I have with Courtyard is their breakfast. The process of ordering off the menu or getting something to go takes longer than it should.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Horne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had stayed in a Courtyard the night before, so we decided to stick with the name we were familiar. We had to stay in the king with a sofa bed, instead of our preferred 2 queen room, as this was one of the only rooms left. The view from our room was really cool. We were right along the Mississippi and could see the bridge nearby. We watched a couple barges go by as well.
The king bed was comfortable, but the sofa bed was not. The kids liked that there were a few "noodles" available to use in the pool, too.
Overall, it was a decent night stay. Again, it's very nice to stay in a room where you don't hear every little thing that goes on in the hall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.