We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect - no complaints” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Eagan, MN
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Almost perfect - no complaints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Courtyard and found the staff friendly, the room clean and almost "immaculate". The bed was quite comfortable with decent pillows, the room was quiet, and the outside noise unnoticeable. Darkening window curtains were also appreciated - and unlike one reviewer, we did not find the bathroom or living area to be "tiny". TV worked fine - and had a fair selection of channels. Room surroundings seemed little funky for the decor, but welcomed having adequate lighting from lamps - unlike so many hotels where 40 watt bulbs are standard. Towels were almost new.

A bit hard to find without GPS - hotel is in a redeveloped area nearly under the bridge from Minnesota, but ask for a riverfront view. Bistro breakfast is NOT complimentary, and is a bit pricey. Went a mile south to McDonald's! However, we will definitely stay at this Courtyard again.

Room Tip: If you can get it, ask for a Riverfront view and watch the anglers and boat traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    38
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
37
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had seen the Courtyard on a previous trip into La Crosse and it looked like a great place to stay. Newer looking property, on the river, restaurants very close - all looked good. So on my last trip into La Crosse, I tried it.
The service is fine and the property is clean. Nice quiet location. But wait, the rooms! This was my second hotel in one week where you could barely walk into the bathroom and close the door because the space is TINY. I mean tiny, like it will give a normal person claustrophobia. The toilet and tub are in one very small space, and the extremely small vanity is outside the door. The sleeping area is on the small side also. I am Marriott Gold, so I have to assume I got at least an average room. The architect who designed this place should lose his/her license. And one more complaint, there is no door on the closet. Really Marriott, is this the best you can do?
If all you care about is a clean place with a great location, try it. If you expect a decent sized and well designed room, go elsewhere. I will.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times already. We stayed someplace else one visit; not as good! The rooms are nice; all updated within the past year; the beds very very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Meals are good. We will return as we have family in LaCrosse now. There is a lot to do int his area. I normally travel with hubby; but my last trip was solo. I did not use the spa or room service.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room I've stayed 3 different locations; they've all been go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

In town for the easter weekend. Planned to stay at the radisson riverfront but it was booked due to a concert so they recommended the Courtyard a couple blocks away. Bit more expensive (199 v 129) but it waas very nice. Modern inside, pool and gym centrally locatesD in hotel with deli like eating and bar area overlooking the river. Quiet and clean. Friendly staff?
Recommend dinner at Piggys across the street and breakfast at fayzes. Take the car a short drive to granddads bluff to look out over the city and river

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a location not far from several good restaurant options. Rooms were updated and extremely nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. This is not a 'discount hotel' but I found it to be well worth it. Overall, a great place to stay in La Crosse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Courtyard is a clean and friendly hotel. The staff was accommodating and the location was good. We were there for a basketball tournament. It fit our needs well. If you are traveling with a large group there is not a lot of space to hang out in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, WI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in the recently renovated hotel. The sink area is a bit small and the closet is a bit tight, but adequate. Would like a place to lay my suitcase other than the floor. But the desk is great. An empty fridge to old wine. The bed was very comfortable. The new restaurant for breakfast ( no dinner or lunch service) is a great improvement over the old. Very helpful staff that remembers everyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
Courtyard La Crosse
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown
Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.