We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location and hotel, but you'll pay more for it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Madison, wi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and hotel, but you'll pay more for it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were looking to take a long weekend and stay somewhere fancy so we decided on La Crosse and the Marriott Riverfront. It was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel is right alongside the river and fancy. We specifically chose a room facing the river to enjoy the view. The view isn't exactly scenic, the hotel sits very close to the Cass St. Bridge, but the setting is so very Mississippi River and I found it added so much to our experience. It will cost you though; it is one of the most expensive hotels in La Crosse, and no free breakfast. It is close to many tasty restaurants so that you can leave your car at the hotel and walk most places. If we decide to treat ourselves again next winter we will definitely consider the Marriott Riverfront again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
43
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, Kansas
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a very nice hotel located right on the Mississippi river. The bistro has a full service bar, a good breakfast, with plenty of on site parking. The hotel is located in the middle of down town Lacrosse so it is convenient to plenty of activities. The rooms are new, the bed is comfy and quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My stay in La Crosse at the Mississippi Riverfront Courtyard was fantastic! It has been remodeled within the last few months and they didn't miss a thing. The rooms are stylish and functional. It was a breeze to get online and get work accomplished at the large desk. The beds and linens were among the most comfortable I have ever experienced. The view of the Mississippi was a beautiful sight to see in the morning. The staff were friendly and accommodated every request. I will most definitely stay again on my next trip through town.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the river if possible. However, the views of downtown La Crosse are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is located on the banks of the Mississippi River. It's newly remodeled and has a nice modern feel to it. The lobby area includes a handy Starbucks where you can pick up a coffee, breakfast or a sandwich. If it's nice out, you can sit out on the patio for a river view. The rooms are updated with newer furniture and comfortable beds. It's an easy 3 block walk to the convention center and to all the restaurants and entertainment in downtown La Crosse. It's also close the riverwalk where you can go for a morning run or a stroll. I would definitely stay here again--the next time I would book a room with a view of the river.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the Mississippi River, be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed 2 nights at this Courtyard during Oktoberfest and was very impressed with the hotel. Hotel has been recently renovated. Rooms are very spacious, clean, and comfortable. Only complaint was housekeeping knocked one morning and asked if we needed towels. We said yes assuming they would still come back and clean, but our room was never cleaned that day. Wasn't a huge deal though. Overall, great hotel. Nice location, within walking distance to downtown La Crosse.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WISCONSIN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have stayed on and off at this Marriott and it rates high as a place to stay. However, this was my last visit for these reasons.

First, I tried to use my accrued Marriott Rewards points at this hotel and I was given the runaround as this "Marriott is a level 4 and you can't use your rewards, etc". What? Second, and I had not stayed at this Marriott for a couple of years, their rates went up in the neighborhood of $40 to $50 a night. When I asked for AAA and AARP discounts, the clerk said they were applied. So I wound up paying $169.00 plus tax which to me is the "rack rate."

Finally, this hotel eliminated their better than average comp buffet breakfast. More for less So for those reasons I will never stay at this Marriott again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times. The view of the river is really wonderful, it is worth asking for the view when you book your room. It is fun seeing the barges go by on the Mississippi.
The newly remodeled rooms are really classy and comfortable. I think they just finished all the rooms.
The front desk staff were really pleasant and the room was perfect for getting work done for my business. They have the choice of wireless or networked cable and even had an adjustable ergonomic chair, which most hotels don't pay attention to that detail. I like that I didn't have to deal with passwords and hoops to jump through to get on the internet. It was fast and just what I needed.
I had breakfast at the Bistro. They had a nice selection of breakfast items that were reasonably priced. It was nice having breakfast with the view of the Mississippi.
The workout room have new treadmills and is set up well. The frosted windows are nice, so you are not on display as you work out.
There is a mellow atmosphere here with a friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront

Address: 500 Front Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse is perfectly located in Downtown La Crosse on the banks of the Mississippi River. Offering a fresh, vibrant and newly renovated everything. Featuring the new Bistro restaurant, 24 hour market, pool and whirlpool, free parking, internet and friendly staff. We welcome you to share all we have to offer with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront Hotel
La Crosse Marriott
La Crosse Courtyard
Courtyard La Crosse Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.