We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Billings, MY
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Although we booked three rooms several weeks in advance, and requested that we be near each other, we were on three different floors, apparently because these were "handicapped accessible" rooms, but none of us were. It's pricey, and they charge $5 a day to park your car. The location is convenient to restaurants and shopping, and a convention center. The hotel restaurant wasn't up to par -- the staff mixed up the meals and the checks. Food was below average.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Richard W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you liked our hotel location. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like our hotel fell short of your expectations. It is regrettable that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to room allocation and food quality. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and services we offer to our guests.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    36
    22
    35
See reviews for
39
36
12
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have stayed at many Holiday Inn chain hotels over the past years, and this is one of the worst. I will admit, most of this negativity is due to the terrible, and I mean terrible, customer service. However the hotel is outdated as well, but in most cases I can overlook that. Poor customer service is something I cannot.

The situation is I went online to the IHG site and changed my reservation from 1 room to 2 rooms. I did this about 5 hrs prior to check in. It showed many room types available, so thought we were fine. However when checking in, was told they only had me for 1 room and are sold out, as is all other hotels in the area. Fortunately, I had booked a king suite so it did have a pull out couch. I am not fond of sleeping in the same bed with co-workers as we were in town on business.

So that in itself is annoying, but the persons response is what really irritated me. She said "It is not our fault, you need to handle this through corporate". Really? Just pass the buck off. I don't care if you are an independent franchise or not, you are HOliday Inn, right? Then she still went on to charge full rate as well as charge the extra $5 for parking. Oh, but we did get 1 extra drink ticket (which we are not using anyway).

I would put her name here, but she was not wearing a name tag. I assume because she is normally a B*%ch and does not want people to know her name.

I do not recommend giving this hotel your business. The Radisson is right across the street, so stay there. It looks nicer anyway.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Joel C,

I regret that you experienced rude service regarding your reservation. I am unaware of the situation but would be happy to investigate it further if you would like to call me directly. If you have the confirmation number of the updated reservation showing the additional room, that would be helpful. Computer errors can happen but we strive to accommodate electronic issues beyond everyone's control if at all possible and again apologize if you were not treated with our greatest asset, Friendly Customer Service.

Please contact me and I will be happy to assist you further!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our welcome was warm and friendly. The hotel is well located to campus and downtown events. Our room was on the 4th floor in the back of the hotel-and when it was time to go to sleep we found many flood lights shining in our room. When I called the front desk they immediately offered to change rooms, but we were already unpacked and ready for bed. The front desk has probably had that complaint a lot. And the solution is SO SIMPLE! Just put heavier curtains across the window! These were sheer curtains and they really let the light in. Really? You cannot replace these with something that will block out the light? Seems like an easy fix. Staff gets high marks for friendliness, but the housekeeper asked us 2x if we were leaving (though we did not have suitcases in hand). A bit irritating. She could not get us out of there fast enough! In general, I would likely stay elsewhere next time. The hotel could use an upgrade. Rooms feel old and worn.

Room Tip: Stay at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you Jennifer for your kind words about our staff! We take pride in our service and friendly atmosphere. In regards to the window coverings, there are blackout shades behind the valance and sheer decorative curtain. They are heavy so they will block out any of the city or marquee lighting that you described. I'm sorry that you encountered a problem finding them.

I do hope that our friendly service will help you choose to stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful.Located in downtown you could leave your car parked and walk to any dining location. The restaurant on the premises Busters had a good breakfast and at a great price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomah, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice clean, well taken care of hotel. The staff is very accomodating and ready to serve your needs. Located a walk away from down town or the river park. Also had a lovely ice cream shoppe across the street. It was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: top floor adds a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review! We pride ourselves on our service and happy to hear you felt the same. La Crosse offers a great downtown area and glad you enjoyed it including the Pearl Ice Cream Shop!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinville, MA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel was a layover while driving to SD. Clean rooms and pool was great for the kids. The staff was friendly and location was right off the highway. Plenty of places to grab a bite near by one was recommend by the front desk in town which was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for your high marks on cleanliness. We will be sure to share your comments with our room attendants! We are glad you chose us for your resting place on your way to South Dakota. Hope yo see you on your way back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

So Tim you titled yourself as "Owner" but your tirade would suggest otherwise. You stated in your tirade the owner handed you his phone. So are you or are you NOT the owner? We attempted to book rooms for the previously referred to wedding and your staff only wanted to give us a Friday night room. When we asserted we needed 2 rooms for 2 nights, and might I add we didn't care ~ the rate @ this time and pointed that out to your desk staff they were still unwilling to allow us to book the 2 nights, stating we needed to contact the bride & groom and have them talk to your staff @ the hotel who was in charge of this process to see if you would be willing to release more rooms to this wedding event. We called later only to find out there were no more rooms available in their block so I chose to go to Expedia and booked my rooms through there. As I've read on many reviews on several different sites most agree with this bride & grooms assessment of your facility and your lack of "service" so before you go throwing around the lawsuit word I think you would be better off really looking at your facility, it's rundown state and your customer service, or lack there of. YOU should be the ones apologizing to this couple! How dare you threaten them. Has no one ever taught you the cardinal rules of customer service and service recovery? #1 THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS RIGHT. #2 IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to HELP the CUSTOMER.You not only represent yourself BUT the business you work for. There are @ least 4 more but you would do well to even start with these 2. Now for service recovery I would suggest --"To do this, you need a whole lot of empathy.  You need to listen; you need to care.  These are the tools for service recovery.  You need to go that “one step beyond.”  You need to do something they’re not expecting, something that bowls them over.  It might mean taking a loss, but if you’re really looking to save that customer, you’re willing to take that loss.  At the end of the call, they’ll be so happy and so smitten with your response, they’ll be singing your praises to all their friends." this is a quote from just one quick article I found online. There are thousands if not millions but I think this one said it pretty succinctly. YOU OWE the previously mentioned bride and groom a BIG FAT APOLOGY. They DON'T OWN or even work @ a watch shop. They are hard working elementary teachers. No one in our families asked for free handouts or called the true owner on his cell phone! If anyone said anything untruthful in these reviews it IS YOU. Look in a mirror, shame on you. Now pick up the phone Apologize and work on YOUR customer service recovery! An unsatisfied customers from rooms 322 & 310 August 9th & 10th

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, Owner at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear DebLuvs

This has already been addressed and is a mistaken response in our social media responder. I already emailed the powers that be and it is being handled. It was properly responded to on the hotel site.

First to address your statement about a tirade and threats. No tirade or threats were made to any guests. That statement is confusing. The guest is not always right. The guest does deserve respect until that respect is broken and the actions of this wedding party draws concern.

Please let me remind you about the exact events that made us concerned. The groom booked 10 rooms. Three different guests then tried to take all the rooms in the block under one single name. This would have resulted in approximately 35 rooms being held under 3 names. When explained that we can not give all the rooms in the wedding party to one name and that the number they were requesting exceeded the rooms in the block, the callers swore at us, hung up and called back and repeated the incident for about 3-4 hours. This is not acceptable behavior. You mentioned taking action to help which we did. We offered to hold additional rooms aside the block since they were asking for 10-15 rooms but the caller would be responsible with their credit card which was met with more swearing and hang ups telling us they were not going to be responsible for rooms with their credit card info on the reservation.

We also emailed the groom and informed him of the situation. We told him that guests are calling to reserve the entire block under their name and if this happened, nobody else would get rooms in their block and defeats the purpose of the block. If guests have individual names w/credit cards we would be happy to make them but it is totally making their block ineffective if we allowed this type of booking. The groom sent back an apology email saying they were getting backlash from their guests who were not describing the events accurately.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#1 of 17 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
0.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott La Crosse Downtown / Mississippi Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
#5 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.9 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#3 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse

Address: 200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown LaCrosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms including whirlpool suites. Rooms are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Ebeneezer's is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge. Open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Ebeneezer s features gourmet wood-fired pizzas and pasta. Ebeneezer's lounge is a perfect place to meet or watch your favorite sporting event. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.