We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn La Crosse

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn La Crosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Quick overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for one night on 4/13 in a room with two queen beds. The room was standard and clean. The only issue was for a room that can sleep 4, they only provided 2 washcloths, 2 hand towels, and 3 bath towels. There happened to be 3 of us staying. We improvised. Parking is a premium. You have to pay $3 for overnight parking. There is one tiny lot in front of the building and a ramp behind it. I never did find out how to get to the ramp, and no directions were offered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    24
    16
    31
See reviews for
28
31
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Unlike many of those who reviewed this property,we found it to be excellent overall. There are many good restaurants within walking distance, and the restaurant had good breakfast, lunch and dinner tho wouid lhave liked a bit more variety in the dinner menu so we went elseswhere after a first night when we were really tired from our trip. We were amazed by the number of local pedestrians who DO use the sidewalks, all day and into the evening. it is a very friendly t ypical midwestern city.
The hot tub was much enjoyed and under-utilized, pool sparkled. We were greeted courteously although a friend did have some issues at check in during a busy convention. I think there shldh be more parking and included in room price, and pet charge was excessive as the convention rate was high to start with. We'd go back next time we are in town.. .

Room Tip: go for the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel twice now. Rooms are clean and great location. However, their staff is at times inconsistent with policies; although, they are quick to correct those errors. You must pay for parking and no free breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Tin S,

Thank you for your return patronage! Our guest service is one that we strive to perfect and be consistent. If you have specifics on a hotel policy that you would care to discuss with myself or our Customer Service Manager, please feel free to contact us at the hotel so we may address it with our staff so we can continue to make every stay enjoyable!
Thanks again!

Tim Rortvedt
General Manager Holiday Inn La Crosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The room was average size, had a king bed, desk & office chair, as well as a sitting chair. The bathroom was spacious although the wallpaper in the shower was held together by a couple staples. Everything appeared to be clean except dirty tiles under the bathroom vanity (probably because housekeeping forgot to scrub under there) and a huge pile of dust on top of the cabinet that held the TV. I liked that the hotel was right downtown! It made going out safe because we didn't have to worry about having a designated driver. The pillows were okay, could have used a couple more. Overall it wasn't a bad deal for downtown La Crosse during the week. I booked using Priceline for a $68 rate. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The area is unsafe, close to bars with lots of drunk people loitering at the small, not well lighted open parking lot.Same thing with the attached dark garage area...would not attempt to walk alone.Be sure park your car closest to the entrance to the hotel. The hotel smells cigarettes all over. The swimming pool looks dirty and moldy. The carpet is gross and the rooms are dilapidated, elevator is dark and filthy and the stockroom of the house cleaners was left open and you can see the dirt all over...eewwww. We don't have a choice but to stay as it was late at night and the area is unfamiliar. The air condition is old and not blowing cool air even at full blast.The bathtub is yucky. Please don't stay in this hotel ...you won't feel safe at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I have forwarded your comments to the La Crosse City Parking Authorities about the dim lighting. The structure you refer to as the garage is a 500 space parking ramp and needs to be in compliance with city ordinances for public lighting. We appreciate your view in light of this subject. The very reason you felt that our location did not fit your travel needs is the very reason that many of our satisfied guest choose our location. Our location to downtown and the accessibility to the area locations, including La Crosse nightlife, is unmatched by any other hotel in La Crosse. La Crosse's nightlife is a prime reason many guests come here to experience!

Our pool is our most popular feature in the hotel and is monitored daily. We take pool safety and cleanliness very seriously and I would offer anyone to the number to the City of La Crosse Department of Health's number where you can request their results of weekly pool inspections and water testing. Our pool is the largest in downtown La Crosse and very highly utilized!

Our elevators are lighted by 6, 25 watt bulbs which offers very well lit elevators in both carts. I am uncertain how your lighting experience would have been poor in the elevators. In room, we have completely refreshed and painted all rooms in the hotel. Our guest rooms have been completely renovated with an updated wall covering and paint to present a updated look that we are very proud to offer. I did check our logs and found no concerns over your timeframe but I would be happy to talk to you about the specific room you stayed in as to better understand and investigate any issues!

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you consider us in your future travel!

Tim Rortvedt
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Did a last minute booking -- through Priority Club app at around 8 PM on 25 December, due to a relative being checked in the hospital at Gundersen Lutheran. Actually checked in around 1 AM in the morning on 26 December, into the suite we reserved, and checked out by 8 or 9 AM. Everything was adequate, but we were probably too bleary-eyed to notice. One note -- in most Intercontinental Properties, I am greeted for my Platinum status -- I certainly did not need to worry about being embarrassed -- none of this nonsense in recognizing my loyalty to ICH for my 75+ nights of stays -- appeared we were REALLY inconveniencing the gentleman attending the desk by checking in that night. I am so sorry -- I promise it will be VERY unlikely for me to darken the doorstep of this establishment again... Hope all others have a positive experience in the future! From previous reviews -- this may be a challenge due to some on this hospitality staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Doug S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As a Priority Club Rewards Platinum member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brands. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory customer service you received at the front desk. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First off had to pay to park, second the staff was rude and let me stand there for several minutes before I was acknowledged. Room had a good view of the downtown area and convention center. That is about all the positives besides the location to downtown. I actually went to the Radisson across the street to eat and work because the internet was terrible and figured if their hotel looked like that then the food was probably going to be poor and over priced as well. Was happy to get out of there and will find a better place for cheaper next time for sure as it is ranked 15 out of 16 so I am sure you can find a better place for same cost or better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn La Crosse

Address: 200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn La Crosse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown LaCrosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms including whirlpool suites. Rooms are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Ebeneezer's is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge. Open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Ebeneezer s features gourmet wood-fired pizzas and pasta. Ebeneezer's lounge is a perfect place to meet or watch your favorite sporting event. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.