We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked as Priority Platinum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn La Crosse

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn La Crosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Booked as Priority Platinum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Did a last minute booking -- through Priority Club app at around 8 PM on 25 December, due to a relative being checked in the hospital at Gundersen Lutheran. Actually checked in around 1 AM in the morning on 26 December, into the suite we reserved, and checked out by 8 or 9 AM. Everything was adequate, but we were probably too bleary-eyed to notice. One note -- in most Intercontinental Properties, I am greeted for my Platinum status -- I certainly did not need to worry about being embarrassed -- none of this nonsense in recognizing my loyalty to ICH for my 75+ nights of stays -- appeared we were REALLY inconveniencing the gentleman attending the desk by checking in that night. I am so sorry -- I promise it will be VERY unlikely for me to darken the doorstep of this establishment again... Hope all others have a positive experience in the future! From previous reviews -- this may be a challenge due to some on this hospitality staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Doug S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As a Priority Club Rewards Platinum member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brands. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory customer service you received at the front desk. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    24
    16
    31
See reviews for
28
31
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carpentersville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First off had to pay to park, second the staff was rude and let me stand there for several minutes before I was acknowledged. Room had a good view of the downtown area and convention center. That is about all the positives besides the location to downtown. I actually went to the Radisson across the street to eat and work because the internet was terrible and figured if their hotel looked like that then the food was probably going to be poor and over priced as well. Was happy to get out of there and will find a better place for cheaper next time for sure as it is ranked 15 out of 16 so I am sure you can find a better place for same cost or better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

i stayed in this hotel twice , and thought the first bad experience was just a fluke, as the bedroom had about actual 1/8in of dust and fuzz behind everything that requires moving to clean including about a 1/4in under the bed and i should have but didnt say anything . I thought well they have some lazy cleaning people , but what i found on my second stay was a problem that went all the way to the general manager, this is where i got corporate involved. Corp has a program where they make a case and follow up on it, At my second stay (this is a assumption not fact) i believe we accidently got a room where pornographic filming or acts were commonly occurring , due to the some kind of human fluids driping down the wall above the bed in about 8 places and aged enough to have turned a sickening yellowish brown , the room itself had black mold on the walls in 4 places and a huge deposit behind the tv stand and on the carpet in about a 5 foot area , the sheets had two tear holes in them one 2in and one 3 in , . now i realize this is almost beyond belief, and this is why i have all this documented in photos which i can send you if you would like. The location is downtown but if you decide to stay at this hotel, all i can say is you were warned, the management was all excuses and no offer for money back or anything , all i can say is ewwww sickening ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at this property twice in the last year and a half, once to view the fireworks in 2011 and once early this summer. As other reviews have mentioned, the rooms are a bit dated. However, on both occasions, the rooms were clean and we enjoyed the river view a great deal. In addition, the rooms are large with a living area and bedroom. The beds were comfortable, and the internet was fast enough to allow us to stream video without interruption. The restaurant onsite had great pizza, the kids eat free, and breakfast the following morning was very good. When we checked out, my mother, who had left earlier, called to say she thought she had forgotten something in her room. When I asked at the front desk, one of the managers literally ran up to check the room. She returned empty handed, and I realized, to my embarrassment, that I had given her my room number rather than my parents. She returned in a few moments with the item and a smile on her face. The item was not worth a great deal, but she had treated it with care and invested extra effort. I really appreciated this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here for two nights at the end of October while attending a conference in the convention center across the street. I was a bit concerned after reading the other reviews - but my stay at this hotel was just fine.

I had a king room on the second floor. Apparently this is not one of the floors that has been renovated. But I found the room to be clean and no more "shabby" than many other hotels I have stayed in. The bed was very comfortable and the linens were fine.

I am a priority club member and was given coupons for "buy one get one free" drinks at the restaurant connected to the hotel. They did not have a complimentary breakfast. I did have special pricing for the room - due to the convention.

The parking lot in front of the hotel is very small. Additional parking is available in the structure next door. They do charge 3 dollars a day for parking.

I would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msp
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. That being said the room(s) are in need of some TLC--furniture is chipped and scratched and the bathroom sink the porcelain is coming off and wallpaper is peeling. I think the hotel is way overpriced and would look somewhere else nxt time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Other reviewers indicated that the rooms were dirty. I stayed there in August 2012 and no one in our group of 10 had this problem. So, kudos to the hotel for improving in this area. But, they have a way to go. Our room had not been remodeled yet as some in our group had been. We had peeling wallpaper and very worn bathroom fixtures. Once their renovation is complete, the rooms will be fine although dark and cave-like. But, I'd still just give the hotel an average at that point. If you can get a reservation somewhere else near this location do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear AlwaysBusiness2012,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you found the cleanliness of our hotel commendable. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests. I hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn La Crosse

Address: 200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn La Crosse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown LaCrosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms including whirlpool suites. Rooms are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Ebeneezer's is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge. Open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Ebeneezer s features gourmet wood-fired pizzas and pasta. Ebeneezer's lounge is a perfect place to meet or watch your favorite sporting event. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.