We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some of the reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn La Crosse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn La Crosse to your Saves list
Holiday Inn La Crosse
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
msp
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not as bad as some of the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. That being said the room(s) are in need of some TLC--furniture is chipped and scratched and the bathroom sink the porcelain is coming off and wallpaper is peeling. I think the hotel is way overpriced and would look somewhere else nxt time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    28
    18
    32
See reviews for
32
32
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Other reviewers indicated that the rooms were dirty. I stayed there in August 2012 and no one in our group of 10 had this problem. So, kudos to the hotel for improving in this area. But, they have a way to go. Our room had not been remodeled yet as some in our group had been. We had peeling wallpaper and very worn bathroom fixtures. Once their renovation is complete, the rooms will be fine although dark and cave-like. But, I'd still just give the hotel an average at that point. If you can get a reservation somewhere else near this location do it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear AlwaysBusiness2012,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am pleased you found the cleanliness of our hotel commendable. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests. I hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierre, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Like some of the other reviewers my wife and I felt this hotel was dirty and over-priced. I would not recommend staying here in the future until it has been redone. The bed frame and area was simply filthy and mattress was shot. The towels were worn to a thread and I ripped one when toweling off. The location was probably ok, but why stay here if better facilities are located nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear RoyRogers57532,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The worst Hol Inn ever stayed at. Bathroom floor dirty, mirror all streaked, tile grout filthy, towells worn. Room carpet worn plus a musty oder. Called front desk and refused to move us to a different room plus rude to boot!
Stayed one night and switched to nearby Radisson for pleasant 3 night stay for rest of trip.

Would never stay at this Hol Inn again

Room Tip: Try the nearby Radisson if available but if have to stay here check out the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear playtex,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. It is unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

I hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn several times on business. I like the location in downtown. You can walk to most anywhere in this cute little city. The property it self is poorly kept and tired. Rooms are somewhat clean but the ageing bath fixtures and other room amenities like, TV's,furnitue,bedding,etc. are almost disgusting!!!! I feel dirty just being in the room. The resturant is also a disgrace. On my last trip I ordered the Fish and Chips. A local favorite especially on Fridays in Wisconsin. The fish seemed to have been frozen and thawed in a microwave oven. It was rubbery and putrid. You are best to avoid this hotel till ownership or management changes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decorah, Iowa, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

First of all-nice staff and our room was clean. Location is great in downtown and parking was easy. Carpet in hallways were older, and I was a bit nervous when I stepped out of the elevator. Room was good though. Comfortable pillows, good clea bed. There are some cosmetic things that I would recomend- paint touch ups and little stuff. But I would stay again. Resturant downstains, good for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Pros: good location for downtown La Crosse. They have room service from the local restaurant downstairs (pizza, burgers and sandwiches). Staff was very friendly.

As of August 1, 2012 not all of the rooms have been remodeled. If you want to guarantee a remodeled room get a whirlpool room on the fifth floor. Even though I was in an upgraded room the bed was still hard and lumpy (not very comfortable).

Cons: Even though you're in an upgraded room the bed is still hard and not very comfortable. $3.00 parking fee per night. Spotty WiFi in my room on the 5th floor.

Next time I would stay at the Marriott on the river. It's a nicer hotel but wait a couple of months for this Marriott. It is also in the process of being remodeled right now.

Room Tip: As of August 1, 2012 not all of the rooms have been remodeled. If you want to guarantee a remodeled...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim R, General Manager at Holiday Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our employees! We try to provide great friendly service and I'm glad that your stay was positive regarding our staff.

Just a quick note on the mattresses. All rooms were replaced with the Simmons world class sleeper plush mattress with in the past year, so all our mattresses are very new. It is actually one of our more talked about changes in the hotel and the majority of our guests have loved them! We receive emails quite frequently about the mattress and where guest's can find one! I am surprised that your mattress experience was unfavorable.

Thanks again for your comments and hope to see you next time through La Crosse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn La Crosse

Address: 200 Pearl Street, La Crosse, WI 54601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn La Crosse 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse. We are proud to offer a non-smoking environment in all our guest rooms. A great night's sleep is ensured on our new Simmons Plush Beautyrest World Class mattresses. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites is located 1 block east of the Mississippi River, in the heart of historic downtown LaCrosse. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites has 114 rooms including whirlpool suites. Rooms are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access, and 27 inch TVs with over 70 cable channels. The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites - LaCrosse, offers its guests an indoor pool, over-sized whirlpool, fitness center, guest laundry service, and complimentary shuttle service to and from transportation centers. The hotel also has a lobby business center with wireless Internet access, PC, printer and FAX machine, as well as a 500 sq. ft. meeting room located just off the hotel lobby. Ebeneezer's is the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites' unique restaurant and lounge. Open for breakfast, lunch & dinner, Ebeneezer s features gourmet wood-fired pizzas and pasta. Ebeneezer's lounge is a perfect place to meet or watch your favorite sporting event. The La Crosse Convention Center directly across the street offers a connecting skywalk. Major medical centers & colleges, Trane Co., City Brewery & our own Oktoberfest, make La Crosse a great destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.