We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites La Crosse

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Copeland Avenue, La Crosse, WI 54603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one night for work purposes and it was easily the BEST hotel I have ever stayed in. Everything was extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was SUPER comfortable. The hotel room included a full-sized fridge and a stove top. It even included a dishwasher. I wish I could have lived there permanently. The location was perfect. With the Festival grocery store 1 block away and a bunch of highly rated grocery stores within a 5 minute drive, finding places to eat is pretty easy. I can't emphasize how CLEAN the hotel well. You usually don't get that in a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkhughes, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor! We really like to get any feedback on how we're doing and what we do well and anything we may need to improve on. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed yourself while you were with us. To say that we are the best hotel you ever stayed at is such a huge compliment and I will let our housekeeping staff know that the work they do is appreciated and recognized by our guests. We also really like having the grocery store next door. It makes things a lot more convenient for everyone. We look forward to seeing you if you may be staying in La Crosse again in the future.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
19
11
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beloit, WI
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were in a bind as we didn't know of a good place to stay in La Crosse. We usually stay with family but it was going to be packed with family for a funeral. I was quoted a good rate. We arrived yesterday afternoon and our car acted up the minute we pulled into to parking lot. I went in to register and the young man behind the counter could see something was wrong and he helped me out immensely, looking up car places for us to call. He didn't have to do that. I went to the room which was very clean, neat and relaxing. The car was repaired, went to visitation and came back to a nice quiet night at Candlewood. I highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrkhughes, General Manager at Candlewood Suites La Crosse, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate hearing any feedback our guests may have on how we are doing. I'm sorry you had to stay with us under the circumstances you did but am glad you were able to relax and rest up. We're more than happy to assist with any issues there may be even if it is car related and like to help our guests in any way we are able. I hope you'll think of us if you're ever in the La Crosse area again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuck in Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

These Candlewood Suites are very clean and comfortable. The bed was extremely comfortable and the suite itself is perfect. The suites are a nice size, the bathroom was squeaky clean new; granite countertops throughout the kitchen and bathroom. There is a nice lawn in the back of the building for walking the dog as the entire property is pet friendly. It is just a short ride downtown where you will find nice pubs and restaurants. Also, there is a large grocery store within walking distance of the hotel if needed. I highly recommend this hotel/suite complex.

Room Tip: There is a "kitchen cupboard" honor system store on the main level. It also features a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Comfortable mattresses. Wonderful sheets. Immaculate kitchen and bathroom. Great service. Decent value. Good location. Very quiet- easy to get a good night's sleep.

The only thing that could be improved upon is that we reserved a room with a couch in it, but ended up in one with a recliner chair instead of the couch. Not a huge deal. But...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel would be a good choice for any one going to LaCrosse. Good location,
Very clean, kitchen in the room with everything that you need to cook a meal.
Nice towels, comfortable beds and very nice sheets. We liked it. hopefully you will to

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saylorsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My family stayed in two rooms for 5 days. People at the front desk were friendly and helpful. Rooms were ok, and quiet. Bathroom was good. Both rooms had a large refrigerator with a stove and microwave, so that you could cook your own meals if you want (a Festival grocery store is only a block away). The hotel doesn't have a standard free breakfast like many. They do have a pantry with various items in it, but the only free thing is coffee. The location is in North La Crosse, just past the bridge over the La Crosse River (and a very nice bike trail there). The downside is that there are really no good restaurants near the hotel. For breakfast, the best nearby choice is a Perkins, north about a mile away. There are a couple Chinese restaurants nearby that are ok, and a sub place and burritto place next to the hotel. Otherwise, you need to go to downtown La Crosse. This is a good choice for an extended stay (especially for business travelers) -- especially if you cook your own meals, and the price is much more resonable than the downtown La Crosse hotels. Also, note that maid service only occurs once per week - you can go to the front desk and exchange towels if you want.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel (not facing the highway) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The decor of the rooms is nice, bed is comfortable and all the appliances seem to work well. Nicely appointed gym and free(!) laundry room. Very good for longer stays. As others have mentioned, the sound-proofing is not the best. I shared a wall with the gym and was awakened two days in a row by someone on the treadmill on the other side of the wall. The 2nd time, I pounded on the wall, and apparently they heard me, because they stopped! WiFi works well and there is a decent cable selection. I and others in my party were annoyed to find a $700 hold on the credit cards we had given for incidentals when the rooms were pre-paid by our companies. We're notdrug-addled rock stars or juveniles. I think it would be difficult for us to rack up that kind of a bill in two weeks, especially when there is a large grocery store within walking distance. If somebody improved the property across the street, it might actually have a nice view. There is a little pond in back. The barbecue are is a nice touch that I haven't seen at other hotels like it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites La Crosse

Address: 56 Copeland Avenue, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites La Crosse 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites La Crosse Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.