We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable...standard...friendly staff ...and clean.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Affordable Inn Motel

Affordable Inn Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Affordable Inn Motel to your Saves list
Affordable Inn Motel
614 Monitor St, La Crosse, WI 54603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable...standard...friendly staff ...and clean.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The price is affordable...the location was good as well..rooms are standard...it was clean and the staff were friendly to us. They made us feel comfratable and welcome. They were very helpful to us. It was close to downtown as well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washburn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I ended up at the Affordable Inn after a very long day of driving and due to poor planning on my part. Affordable, yes. It cost me about $60. I am also not frightened away by people living at a motel. However, I think I should've been this time.

My room was in the back of the motel and at least I was able to park my car where I could see it from the room. The room itself was shabby; dirty, ripped & burned rug (in a nonsmoking room), the door only had a turn lock on the knob (no chain lock or bolt), and the window was wide open with only a screen to keep others out (good thing I noticed it before leaving the room for dinner). The bathroom was fine & looked relatively newly remodeled, except for the shower. I had great difficulty trying to turn the shower on and apparently other had also because the knob was broken obviously by someone pulling it the wrong way. I ended up having to call the front desk and have them literally yank the knob to get the water running. After getting into the tub, it creeked & groaned as I stood in it. Looking down as the water ran not only I could see the supports being pushed up through the bottom of the tub as the unsupported parts were sinking down, but I also saw the amount of black coming off the bottom of my feet from the rug I walked on (I had showered earlier in the day & had put on clean socks). I spent my shower straddled on the supports.

After dozing off at about 12:30 a.m. I was awoken by the people upstairs having very loud sex. Not only did I hear them, but the bed they were on was extremely loud. Now, people in motels having sex is not unheard of or even surprising. So, I turned on the TV, turned up the volume and attempted to return to sleep. After more than an hour of consistent noise, I was now not only tired & angry, but I was jealous! I called the front desk, complained, waited another 30 minutes and never heard anyone approach them nor did I hear the phone ring in the room. I was finally able to sleep after about 2:15 a.m.

The positives about the room: cheap, microwave, refrigerator, and air conditioner.

Otherwise, pay the extra money and find another place to stay.

Room Tip: Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Room was freshly painted. Air conditioner worked well. Staff was friendly enough. Overall, not bad for $68 on a Friday night. Yes, people live here but people live in houses too and that doesn't scare us away from them, does it?

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wasn't a bad place to stay. Room was fine. Comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Room key was literally a key on a chain, people LIVE there, no maid service whatsoever. Filthy room, stained linens, ripped sheet covering box spring. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

The room keys are literally keys. They have people living there. Maid service was a no go, we never got our garbage emptied or toilet paper replaced. Floors were dirty, hair was stuck to the back of the bathroom door. Linens on bed were stained and ripped. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
1.8 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#3 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
1.8 mi away
Motel 6
Motel 6
#11 of 17 in La Crosse
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
Radisson Hotel La Crosse
#1 of 17 in La Crosse
4.5 of 5 stars 482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
Candlewood Suites La Crosse
#5 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Affordable Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Affordable Inn Motel

Address: 614 Monitor St, La Crosse, WI 54603
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Affordable Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Affordable Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.