We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Bad” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2622 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredibly Bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

When we first walked in, the staff was unprofessional and it took an unusually long time to get checked in. Our keys weren't made properly. We signed for a non-smoking room, but the room was foul with stale cigarette smoke. There were cigarette burns on the carpet. The sheets smelled sour. The bathroom looked unclean. The AC/heating unit wasn't sealed properly, so cold air was pouring through the outside of it. When the shower head was in use, it looked more like the stream of a garden hose - just a single stream of water. The only good thing I can say about this place is that the Internet is pretty fast. It gave us a place to sleep and that's about it. I really hope that all of America's Best Value Inn's aren't ALL like this.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We do appreciate your review and it will help us in improving the condition of our property.We will look into addressing all issues that you pointed in your review and we are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. AmericasBestValueInn La Crosse team members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    12
    11
    20
See reviews for
27
9
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Caro
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was clean, beds comfortable, front desk people were friendly and efficient. That is the sum total of the good! Stayed there for 7 nights, room was cleaned maybe 4 of those 7. Trash was not emptied the entire time! At midnight on Friday night a hooker was knocking on the door looking for someone's "friend"! My daughter had make-up missing from her make-up bag. No hangers for clothes in the closet. Seemed to be lots of people just hanging around. Just didn't feel safe or comfortable there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We do appriciate your honest coment about the things that matters most to Us. Clean, comfortable rooms and good customer service. As much as try to screen people at the time of check in, as the motel we we are open to public. We do react soon as there is the complaint and I wish that we knew the troubles you went threw. As always we welcome any coments which can lead us to the right direction and better service. Sincerely ,
AmericasBestValueInn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert Lea
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here over this past weekend and was an ok place to stay but does need major room up dates. The price was right for what you get while staying there. I was there for a reunion event and they were VERY accommodating to the group of people with took up on entire wing of the motel. Its located right off I90 freeway at exit 3. Next door is a Walgreen's Drug store and the other side is a Kwik Trip convenience store. Across the street from a good steak place and close to downtown La Crosse. Just a couple of miles from the mall and LOTS of shopping and eat places....anything your heart might desire. So go and enjoy the area of La Crosse, WI.

Room Tip: I don't think there were any better room location in this motel at all....I am sure there all eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for such a nice review but before that let me thank you on what matters the most-choosing Us among the other properties and staying with Us. We couldn't wish for better way of showing that you had good stay with us and we would love to see you again . Please print out this response to receive 20% off on your future stay. Sincerely,
AmericasBestValueInn team members
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Keep in mind, Im pretty tolerant and dont normally complain. Check in was ok even tho it was a new gal learning the ropes...first room, pulled back the covers and the sheets were wrinkled with cheese snack type crumbs, and a hair! Desk gal said she would be right over to take me to new room. 45min later I called again, said she was alone at the front and a large group checked in...next room looked clean, rooms here are very dated and run down furniture, also could literally see people's feet as they walked past my door the gap was so big. There was a lot of activity out in the hall and you hear it all clearly because of the huge floor gap. Worst was the heater kicked in and sounded like a jet plane getting ready to take off! Another call,another 45 min, and then I was taken to a suite...very dated but roomier and quiet. I used a washcloth to wipe off bedside table to set my belongings and found some dark sticky dust...I swiped all other surfaces with the same result. Bed was fine and I did sleep. Next morning, poor breakfast selections...powdered donuts, some dry cereal, and make your own waffles but no mix? Just had some juice and checked out quickly. Thank goodness there is a McDs across the street. I won't be back...

Room Tip: There is no pool or hot tub here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a unpleasent expiriance in our La Crosse property. As much as we try to address each problem and help each customer , unexpected situations do happend and we appologize for the same. We thank you for the review and we will do our best to improve in the areas that you pointed out. Sincerely, AmericasBestValue inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Smells funny came in winter no working heater nice staff but shady people hanging around keep driving everything out dated on a cross country drive and 3rd night at a hotel and this is the worst by far

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for review and for pointing out the things that you haven't been satisfy with. As much as we try to learn from our mistakes and try to make our property more accessible and afordable for our guests ,mistakes do happend and we sincerely appologize for the same. Thanks from America's Best Value Inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deocrah, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Too much money for an average room with below-average fixtures. A thorough cleaning, new carpeting, new shower head, and a new mattress would go a long way at this place. I left before breakfast in the a.m., but the rooms didn't have coffee makers! Bummer. Oh well. I needed a place to crash for one night, and this place served its purpose. Too bad it cost $100 to do so.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for the compliments on our Staff. We thank you for the suggestions on the updates and we sure will put them in the consideration. Thank you from Americas Best Value inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 127. The AC unit smelled when you turned it on. So did the fridge. Bathroom door stuck and was missing light bulbs in fixtures. Outside security reader was gone so any one could enter. N ceiling creaked when people walked above us. Never going to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maca69, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are very sorry that you had a unpleasent expiriance at our La Crosse property. We wished that you did talk to the front desk and ask for different room. We are always more then happy to try and accomodate the quest as much as we can. Thanks for your input and coments, Americas Best Value Inn team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse

Address: 2622 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 Story interior corridor property. FREE guest breakfast. FREE wi-fi. FREE truck, bus, car parking. Fitness Center. Meeting Room. Guest Laundry. Pet friendly (charge). Near UW-La Crosse and Western Technical College. Near Onalaska OmniCenter. I-94 exit 3. Restaurants nearby. Gas and diesel nearby. FEMA = WI 5181. Three miles from downtown La Crosse. All rooms non-smoking (2010 State law). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.