We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Settle Inn La Crosse

Save Saved
You added Settle Inn La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Settle Inn La Crosse
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2110 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

For the price I think you are getting a good value. Wall paper in room is peeling, rooms are a little small. Nice pool and a friendly staff. Had a breakfast as well but did not ry it. Overall for the Price I recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
34
29
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shakopee, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very friendly staff. Check-in and check-out went smooth as silk. The room was very clean. While the beds are not as nice as our air adjustable bed at home, they were still very comfortable. The wife and I have back issues, and both of us slept perfectly fine. Nice breakfast with a very efficient attendant.
I have paid a lot more at national chains that were a dump compared to this Settle Inn.
Did not use the pool or whirlpool so I can't comment on them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had two rooms and the review is based on what we experienced with one of these rooms. We made a late decision to change destinations for the night we stayed in La Crosse. Did not book ahead but had looked up the motel on TripAdvisor. On arrival asked the young fellow on the desk what was the best deal that he could do for two rooms. He quoted a figure and started getting my details. I then asked about AAA rates and he said - oh that will give you a discount. I would think that there could have been effort on his part to ask about this when I said what was the best rate. My wife and I shared one room and my sister in the other. Her room was obviously designed for improved accessibility and she was happy with it. Our room on the other hand had a rather unpleasant smell which we assumed was coming from the drains in the bathroom. I asked the attendant on the front desk if the water in the local area smelt and he responded no so gave me some air freshener to spray in our room. Later when my wife went to use the toilet she discovered that the toilet seat had not been fully cleaned. Then when I went to turn down the second bed for the night I discovered that all three pillows on the bed had long black hairs on the pillow cases. Called the front desk for new pillows and when these were brought I mentioned the state of the dirty toilet seat. The attendant said he would report that issue to the manager. On check out the next day there was no apology or offer of reduced rates for the state of our room. Breakfast was fine. Wi-fi access was good.
One other off-putting matter was the dirty ash trays on tables at each access point to the hotel - front area and door near the pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSNorth, Manager at Settle Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Let me start with an apology that should have been given by the hotel staff that you dealt with. As the manager I am so sorry that you had such an experience here but I thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond. My AGM did refund your entire room rent and the desk clerk was supposed to inform you of that as well as apologize on behalf of management. Needless to say, there will be some consequence for the desk staff as well as housekeeping as this is not the standard that is acceptable at this hotel. In closing, my sincere apology and thanks for letting me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

This motel, I'd place somewhere between a super 8 and a Hampton Inn. It's an outstanding value as it was only around $60 for the night. I expected at this price a horrible, smelly, dated place but was surprised to see a clean facility. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone seeking a low priced, but decent place to stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Better than a Motel 8 or Super 8, a step below a Hampton Inn. In short, a nice value hotel. The room was clean and the King bed was very comfortable. Decent pool, hot tub. The breakfast was fair, but those seeking more could walk across the lot to a local family restaurant. The location is near I90, so your a five minute drive from UW-LaCrosse or downtown. Not really walking distance.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSNorth, General Manager at Settle Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us. We appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a very nice hotel! Our hotel room was a long walk away, but the room was very nice and updated. The location is nice because there is a nice restaurant near by, however it is by a highway. I don't think I heard the highway from my room, though. The food was good too! I would stay again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSNorth, General Manager at Settle Inn La Crosse, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for the time you took to write a review on your stay with us at the Settle Inn. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The room was a good size, attractive and very clean. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and friendly. They have a very nice pool and spa, which I had all to myself. They provide a good breakfast too. The family restaurant right across the parking lot serves good reasonably priced food. I especially recommend the fish. I had the Walleye and it was perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Settle Inn La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settle Inn La Crosse

Also Known As:
Settle Inn La Crosse Hotel
Settle Inn La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
Settle Hotel La Crosse
Settle La Crosse
Address: 2110 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Settle Inn La Crosse 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Settle Inn La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Settle Inn La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.