We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    60
    19
    20
See reviews for
61
47
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Owatonna, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The service staff at the hotel was great to work with. We came in at 11pm and got checked into our room in record time. The room was so-so and the bed was really uncomfortable, you could feel every spring and major depression in the middle (rm 241) .
Place needs major updating but overall good value for the buck.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for sharing and I appreciate you letting me know how you felt about the staff! We are very close to updating our property. I believe within 6 months to a year all rooms will have new beds and TVs along with new lighting, carpeting, etc. As we get closer the staff and I are getting excited! Hope to see you after the renovation.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a nice hotel for the money. The location is good, near downtown and not far off the highway. Staff is friendly and helpful. Room was just ok. Long walk through the hotel to get to my room. It does need updating, old furniture and no comfortable chairs in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share Thomas and I appreciate what you shared about the staff. I do agree that we have a great location. I also agree that we need to update the property. It's starting to look like those much needed updates are just around the corner. We are looking forward to it and hope to see you after we finish.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I've been staying at the Howard Johnson's every other week since March and the staff is amazing. They remember who I am, remember what rooms work best for me and my family, and even have returned personal amenities forgotten at the previous visit. The hotel is older in decor and furnishings, but we have never had any issues with cleanliness or function. I recommend this hotel in terms of price, additional features like free wifi and breakfast, and the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thanks for taking time to share and thank you for the recognition you gave to the staff. I will share your review with them. I know they realize we are behind in updating the property but I think that motivates them to do their best in service and cleanliness to make up for it. They will be pleased to read your review. Thanks again,

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

From Del, in Fond du Lac, WI
Room was very clean--Bed in 218 is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in, even better than at home--Breakfast before 6am, great--Fit our needs
very well--Location real good, easy access from I 90, 53 & 35-- Downtown easy--Excellent Family Restaurant next door !!--Friendly staff--Thank You !!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
It was great to read your review this morning Delmar! Thanks for writing and I'll share it with the staff today. Hope to see you again.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Was trying to save a little money and earn reward points so we booked here. Check in was fine. Room 212 had a funky smell. Later found that the window ledge is warped and wall paper peeling off wall by window because it got wet. Air conditioner was there and blowing funky smell probably from mold. First night had to ask for drug because there wasn't one in the room like booking said. Person had one there within 10 minutes. Bathroom was clean but stuff on bedroom ceiling I don't want to think about. Every time we flushed the toilet the first night it squealed loudly as it refilled. Windows open but covered in dust/dirt and cob webs. Parking spots are at a premium if you go out until later. Not horrible experience but probably not coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I don't understand your statement, "First night had to ask for drug because there wasn't one in the room." I'm glad you didn't find drugs in the room ha ha. Anyway, I hope you found your room clean and the staff friendly. I will have maintenance look at the air conditioner. Thanks for letting me know about it. Anytime you find a motel room unsatisfactory, please do not hesitate to let the front desk know so they can find you a new room. Hope to see you again in the future.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#4 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#13 of 17 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
2.5 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.