We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Little Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Blackwood, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Little Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

So I've stayed twice in the HoJo La Crosse, Wi. My girlfriend, who is from La Crosse and I'm from the UK, the HoJo is ideal for us. Its in a quiet area and you wouldn't believe the interstate is literally a stone throw away. For me its perfectly situated. There are near by shops and restaurants within walking distance and if you wish to go downtown there is a bus stop outside the hotel to take you there (for $1.50 by the way, in the UK it would cost me like £8.00 for the same journey). It takes about 30 minutes to get downtown on the bus.

The room I've had (same room twice) was ideal. The air con / heater works perfectly. The mini fridge and microwave was included in the room. The bed is comfortable enough and I slept well. There are plenty of electrical sockets in the room too. Safe enough I guess, but to me but I find all American wall sockets dicky, so can't blame the HoJo for that. The a shower and bath are fine but the one bathroom annoyance I had was the toilet seat could be a little bigger.

The staff was great. The lady on the front desk helped me get a better deal for my next stay (it was on an evening, not sure of her name but its greatly appreciated). On my first trip back in November 2013, the check out guy was also a good help when I lost my key while packing up the car. Personally found the cleaning team to be fine and pleasant. By the way, if you leave a "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door, they leave you alone. That would be my advice to people who get woken up by them.

All in all, I'll be back in August ready for IrishFest. I look forward to more stays in the Howard Johnson

Room Tip: I've stayed in Room 133 twice and hope to stay there again if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
It was great to hear from you. I agree that the location is perfect with all the attractions and conveniences within walking distance. I was very pleased to read that you are happy with my staff and property. I look forward to seeing you during Irish Fest.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    57
    19
    18
See reviews for
59
44
26
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsmouth
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed two nights and had to book a motel in Lacrosse WI because all the motels were taken in Winona MN where the college track conference was. Easy to find, close to several eating establishments, friendly desk staff, who gave us all sorts of directions to scenic and eating areas of interest. The room was somewhat dated, but very clean. Beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean, but a little cramped. Exercise room had an elliptical and a treadmill, both of which my wife said worked great. Breakfast choices were typical of this price range of motels. I had a little trouble with the in-room coffee pot, but I left a note for maintenance, and the coffee in the lobby more than made up for the slight inconvenience. If you're looking for a good nights rest for an awesome price, this is definitely the place. If we're ever in La Crosse again, this is where we'll be staying.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Maintenance Man at Motel 6, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for letting me know about the coffee pot. If guests don't let us now things are not working, it might take a few weeks before we discover it ourselves. I liked reading your review. It was honest. But mostly, I'm glad you had a nice stay and plan to return. Thanks again.

Maintenance Man

Jim Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We found our room to be clean with a very comfortable bed. The front desk staff was helpful when we checked in. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Our priority is always to satisfy our guests the best we can & your review is very encouraging and helpful for us to exceed expectations in the future. We hope you stay with us again!


-Emily
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This is an older motel, but clean and comfortable. I was traveling for business and all I wanted was a clean bathroom and comfortable bed. This met my needs perfectly for an affordable price!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Housekeeper at Motel 6, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking time to share. I was pleased to read that you found our rooms clean and comfortable.

Housekeeper

Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.