We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Crosse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    64
    60
    19
    20
See reviews for
61
47
26
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times while attending training sessions in another part of town. The $50ish per night price is right for a student on a budget. The beds are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are pretty clean, though they are quite outdated. The staff is always very friendly, and I have always felt safe alone there. There are coffee and cookies in the evenings and a nice simple breakfast in the mornings. The rooms in general could all use a good detailing and overhaul. Some of them do smell bad - ask for a different room if you are not satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose an upper room if you can climb stairs - there is no elevator. The lower rooms must have thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Maid at Motel 6, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thanks! I appreciate hearing the complements.

Maid

Michelle Strait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nice stay & clean room! Bathroom and room were clean - which is huge for us. The fixtures in the bathroom were older (as is the building), but everything was clean. The front desk staff were great! The room had several amenities and some nice travel supplies. We had 2 rooms, one for us & one for my mom. Both were queen whirlpool rooms, so spacious. The bed was OK for comfort. Not uncomfortable at all, but OK. Each of our rooms had a fridge & micro. The fridge didn't seem to hold temperature very well. One con was that we could hear the person walking around in the room above us. I got the impression that there were some long term residents there, which is not a bad thing, just an observation. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definitely stay here again. It's also easy on & off the highway. The breakfast was mainly toaster items like French toast & pancakes, bagels, also muffins, coffee, juice, milk, hot & cold cereals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Maid at Motel 6, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
My manager shared your review with me as I am the one who cleans the whirlpool rooms. Thank you for taking time to write this review and I'm so glad your family had a nice stay. Sorry to read about the fridge and I'll get maintenance right on it.

Housekeeping

Mary Hercules
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was outdated and the location was awful. The room condition looked like no updates have been made since 1985 and the bed was extremely uncomfortable. I was charged $89/night and based on the condition of the building and my room, I should have been charged only half of that. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone, let alone staying there on a professional business trip. The hotel seem to be overrun with blue collar workers and based on the condition, was probably more applicable to that group.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Rachel, thank you for taking time to share. I do have a large client base of blue collar workers; many construction workers and road crews that stay with us Monday through Thursday. Sorry you did not feel comfortable staying with us.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Crosse hotels
0.1 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#4 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn La Crosse
0.9 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Super 8 La Crosse
Super 8 La Crosse
#13 of 17 in La Crosse
3.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Riverfront Hotel
2.5 mi away
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel La Crosse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Motel-6, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.