We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a very old facility and lacked any covered area in...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    62
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
59
44
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Howard Johnson's in La Crosse, WI for one night sue to our Dad being on the Honor Flight. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and their was an employee picking up garbage in the parking lot who kindly answered questions on the whereabouts of places. during check-in, I asked for a room on the first floor, since my knee was bothering me and my sister walks with a walking stick. We were given the first room inside the back door of the building with parking just outside (very accomodating). The room was clean and standard. The refrigerator was nice and cold, bedding clean,fresh and comforatble. WIFI easily hooked to. No complaints here. I would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
First off-it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are glad to hear your father’s flight went well. The sacrifices our service men and women are un-matched. They deserve the highest caliber of respect. Your father’s service being no exception-so please, consider this a thank you from the Howard Johnson. To address your other comments: it puts a smile on our faces when you’re smiling. Thus why we try so hard to make your stay relaxing and accommodating, at a fair price. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for the review.

Guest Service

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our room was clean and comfortable but the decor is a little outdated.
The front desk staff were very friendly. ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Our housekeepers are some of the best in the area. They work hard to make sure our rooms are five stars. Our desk staff has the same attitude. We are glad to read their service was acceptable. We are working on updates, as this is being typed. We hope you stay with us in the future. Thank you!

Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Several of the recent reviews have been very negative. Ours won't be. We were half-way home with another 4 hours of driving. The weather reports were that the driving rain we were now in at 8 PM was still ahead of us for at least 2 hours and possibly more. We decided to find an inexpensive place to stay and checked online discovering this motel would only cost $41 plus tax. Although the person at the front desk said that price was only if we check in online, he said for $42 plus tax he'd give us a room with two double beds. We checked in. Except for the carpet which could use a good cleaning, the room and bathroom were clean, quiet, the beds were firm but comfortable, there was a microwave and fridge, and an older TV with a large screen which worked just fine, A small exercise room was adequate. There was a Pizza Hut right next door. It was close to the I-system we were traveling. Free internet gave us good connection and breakfast the next morning included hard-boiled eggs with all the standard high-carb offerings typical of a continental breakfast. We were given a stamp card for a free night after seven stays, our Wyndham rewards points, and if we are ever in need of a night in La Crosse again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you Judy! It was such a pleasure hosting you! We have taken your comments into serious consideration and will not stop till the hotel is up to the guest’s standards. We hope to see you in the near future.

Howard Johnson Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.