We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we arrived on the 2nd floor there was sa load of dirty...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
59
45
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, MN
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Several of the recent reviews have been very negative. Ours won't be. We were half-way home with another 4 hours of driving. The weather reports were that the driving rain we were now in at 8 PM was still ahead of us for at least 2 hours and possibly more. We decided to find an inexpensive place to stay and checked online discovering this motel would only cost $41 plus tax. Although the person at the front desk said that price was only if we check in online, he said for $42 plus tax he'd give us a room with two double beds. We checked in. Except for the carpet which could use a good cleaning, the room and bathroom were clean, quiet, the beds were firm but comfortable, there was a microwave and fridge, and an older TV with a large screen which worked just fine, A small exercise room was adequate. There was a Pizza Hut right next door. It was close to the I-system we were traveling. Free internet gave us good connection and breakfast the next morning included hard-boiled eggs with all the standard high-carb offerings typical of a continental breakfast. We were given a stamp card for a free night after seven stays, our Wyndham rewards points, and if we are ever in need of a night in La Crosse again, we will stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you Judy! It was such a pleasure hosting you! We have taken your comments into serious consideration and will not stop till the hotel is up to the guest’s standards. We hope to see you in the near future.

Howard Johnson Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Eye
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Everything was fine but the mattress was in very poor condition was made for a bad nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Maintenance Man at Motel 6, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is good to read everything was fine with your stay-except for the mattress detail. In the future, when you stay with us, contact the front desk and they will contact me to go with you from room to room. Till we find a room that meets your standards. I have placed pillow-top mattress pads in a number of our rooms for guests that like soft mattresses. Thank you.

Howard Johnson Maintenance Man,

Jim Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked the room through an online service for $50. The room was tiny, as we're the beds and bathroom. The television was a dinosaur with snowy reception. The door frame looked as if someone had kicked it in. There was a large gap at the top and bottom if the door. The actual frame was broken and not very secure. The bathtub had mold growing all the way around. The furniture was pretty beat up and dirty. The overall room was dank and didn't smell clean. The single electrical outlet by the TV was retrofitted with a six plug adapter that would make any electrician shudder. I would not recommend walking barefoot anywhere in the motel or room unless you have a good anti fungal handy. Several of the guests ignored the "no smoking within 25 feet of the door" and we had to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke every single time we entered or exited. Several of the disheveled and unkempt guests were casually drinking cans of beer in the lobby while watching TV. Maybe it was the only place they had good reception.
WE DID NOT STAY THE NIGHT. We opted to stay at a more cleanly and spacious hotel for our visit to LaCrosse.
When we returned the room keys only several hours after check in, the receptionists was friendly enough and offered to move us to a different room. Obviously that would not have made a difference. If the tub was that moldy and the room not safe would you actually sleep in the bed? It made my skin crawl just imagining the things living in the sheets.

They did have freshly baked cookies in the lobby. I really hope the person responsible for cleaning the rooms didn't bake them.

For your safety and well-being, I recommend NOT staying at the Howard Johnson's in LaCrosse.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
We were disappointed to read your review. After all, if you scroll down the page, you will read many wonderful comments about our house keeping staff. However, we understand that each experience is unique to the guest.
It is saddening that we could not satisfy your needs. We are working on updates right now IE purchasing new TVs, getting new furniture for the rooms. As for the smoking-since 2009 ALL hotels in Wisconsin have been smoke free. Such is the cause that people huddle in the doorways for warmth. We do apologize that the smoke upset you. We have several entrances you may have found suited your needs better. If not, simply approach the desk staff and they will break up the smokers for you. We are glad that the desk staff discussed your discretion. We appreciate all comments. And strive to make our guests feel important with their opinions. Yes, they were the ones to make the cookies. We assure you everyone on our staff is to the highest caliber of sanitation.


Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.