We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the money, bed was a little small but ok and...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 to your Saves list
Motel 6
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    62
    57
    18
    18
See reviews for
59
44
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartland, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Howard Johnson on a recent visit to see our son at UW-LAX. We were very happy with the facility, especially how clean the room was. The breakfast area was also tidy and well stocked. The cozy room was equipped with a fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The rate was very fair also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, General Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We do get to meet many parents of the students at UWL and this makes our job enjoyable. Many talented and gifted students attend our colleges in La Crosse and I'm always pleased to hear the proud parents share what their kids are going to contribute to the community. Thanks for taking time to let my staff know you appreciate them.

General Manager

Rodney A. Piotraschke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I arrived at the howard johnson at the beginning of january for work. From the start of my stay, the staff has been great! Helpful and friendly. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the house keeping did an awesome job keeping them that way. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a good place to stay while in La Crosse.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Your kind words keep us motivated-to keep doing-what we’re doing! Thank you! We hope to keep providing good service till your next stay..and the next..and the next…

Guest Service

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

All In All I Value And Enjoy Everytime I Visit Lacrosse..Its Maybe All The Booze From The Local Bars.. But Even More When I Come To My 2nd Home Which Is The Howard Johnson. The Staff Is Amazing From Jim The Maintenance Men To The Housekeeping Staff Sue, Mary and Kerri etc etc,, To Adam, Emily And Rodney At The Front Desk, Rooms Are Well Comforting, The Atmosphere Is Great.. Everytime I Come Back To Lacrosse I Will Always Reserve A Room At The HOJO!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your positive review! We love to make guests feel like home!

Guest Service

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilton
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Toilet tank was put on crooked. Door bottom for bathroom was cut and bowed. Faucet handles in the shower did not match. Musty odor in the room. Bathroom floor was "sticky".
Room was clean. Bedding was clean. Internet problems occurred. No decent parking at the front entrance door. Desk staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Motel 6, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing the bathroom issues to our attention. We will fix them right away! As per the rest of your stay-we are glad to read it was satisfactory. We hope you consider us in the future. Thank you!

Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Howard Johnson La Crosse)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.