We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A refurbished room/motel???” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson La Crosse

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson La Crosse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson La Crosse
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Exel Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Chilton
1 review
“A refurbished room/motel???”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Toilet tank was put on crooked. Door bottom for bathroom was cut and bowed. Faucet handles in the shower did not match. Musty odor in the room. Bathroom floor was "sticky".
Room was clean. Bedding was clean. Internet problems occurred. No decent parking at the front entrance door. Desk staff were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson La Crosse, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for bringing the bathroom issues to our attention. We will fix them right away! As per the rest of your stay-we are glad to read it was satisfactory. We hope you consider us in the future. Thank you!

Guest Service,

Adam Binash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    62
    57
    18
    19
See reviews for
60
45
26
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fridley, Minnesota, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I recently stayed at this Howard Johnson Motel and when I checked in, the check in was prompt and fast. The room and bathroom were clean. I had room #111 for the first night and due to a mix-up got room #128 for the second night. Mary, the cleaning lady was more than helpful to try and explain the mix up of why the room wasnt available the second night. It was due to an error by the hotel that was overseen. Not a big deal. Overall stay was excellent. Breakfast was good in the morning. Had a wide choice of bagels, cereal and other stuff. Excellent Stay overall.

Room Tip: The location had no pool or restaurant on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Housekeeping at Howard Johnson La Crosse, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
I would like to say thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson and for your kind blog. We are a close crew here and try to be as helpful as we can to make your stay the most comfortable. Hopefully you will have an even better experience the next time you stay with us.
Thanks again,

Housekeeper

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hortonville, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I recently came to the hotel for the christmas weekend. To my delight, Rodney arranged 4 rooms to accomadate my large family of 8 children. I was in need of 2 pack and plays and they are brand new. I am quite the germ a fob, so having clean pack and play was awesome!!! We were assigned to rooms that were cleaned by Mary. Spotless and smelled soooo clean. WE had a jazzicci suite, which was spotless and real shiny. Her cleaning abilities sure rise to the top. I was inspired by the cute little basket of ammenieties, that we never use, but this time I did forget a comb and some items. The need to not have to contact the front desk and wait....priceless. having a toddler and one that climbs around the room, no issues, carpet super clean. I am not a animal lover at all, but you would never know you allow pets, no smell. SO hats off to Rodaneys hotel, and Mary's cleaning and high standards to insurre us a very happy weekend!!! We will return!!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of Mary's rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H0J0GM, Housekeeper at Howard Johnson La Crosse, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
To the family who's room tip was to ask for one of Mary's rooms, thank you for the great compliments! The staff at Howard Johnson takes great pride in our work. When families enjoy their stay like you did, it makes it all worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time to write about us in a blog and hope to see you again soon.

Housekeeper

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson La Crosse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson La Crosse

Address: 2150 Rose Street, La Crosse, WI 54603 (Formerly Exel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > La Crosse
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in La Crosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson La Crosse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howard Johnson Lacrosse is pleased to provide our guests with exceptional service and quality amenities at an affordable price. Whether you are here for Business or Leisure you can enjoy our Fitness Center, and Free High Speed Wireless Internet in all guest rooms, Free Cable, and much more! After a restful night of sleep, you can look forward to starting your day with a Complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast. To make your stay even more rewarding, please join Innsiders Club and earn Free Room night above and beyond the Wyndham Rewards program. The Howard Johnson La Crosse is the preferred hotel if your visiting La Crosse on business to one of our many Companies. If your visiting Quick Trip, Xcel Energy, Viterbo University, University of Wisconsin La Crosse, Western Technical College, Franciscan Skemp Healthcare, or Gundersen Lutheran Medical Center the Howard Johnson La Crosse is the preferred hotel of choice.We have several restaurants nearby. Perkins, Edwardos Pizza, River Jacks Steak and Seafood Kitchen, Pizza Hut, La Crosse Family Restaurant and Burger King. We are located minutes from Riverside Amusements, Pettibone Park, Gertrude Salzer Gordon Children's Museum, La Crosse Center, Grandad Bluff and The Shrine of Our Lady of Guadeloupe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson La Crosse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson La Crosse Hotel La Crosse
La Crosse Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson La Crosse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.