We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my global favorites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freight House

Freight House
107 Vine St, La Crosse, WI 54601
608-784-6211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 164 Restaurants in La Crosse
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Canyon Lake, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of my global favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I enjoy the ambience of this restaurant. Its usually my first stop when I return here. I like the bar. The staff is super. The salad bar isnt fancy but has everything I need. They have great beer on tap. Food is always good to great. i think the quality of the seafood is directly related to the care their suppliers use in selecting their shipments.


I know some say its expensive and it is relative to other local restaurants. Compare the quality to what it would cost to other places I go in other cities and Id say it's less expensive than Im used to. For example, it cost over a hundred dollars a head for seafood in Tokyo the other day for our group and the drinks were another fifty per person.

I enjoy coming here with my gf because it's just a nice, relaxing, dining atmosphere and we a re always satisfied when we leave.

The only reason I dont give it five stars is because it's expensive compared to other LOCAL restaurants so it's not a super value dining experience relative to the local economy. This last sentence should not be construed as a criticsm as the meals are worth what they charge.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    15
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara falls
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“High Quality Food & Service at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Freight House is the type of restaurant you like to discover when travelling - the atmosphere is unique, the building is extremely interesting in it's design and history, and the service is top-notch.

On top of that, they had great food - the food was excellent, and served promptly. A good selection of beers/drinks also was available, and all was at a very good price.

I would come back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine casual dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have eaten here over 200 times in the last 30 years, food is always good, service always prompt and the atmospere is casual with a elegant feel. Pricing is a bit high, but based on our repeart visits, it must be worth it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“SOOOOOO GOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I think it is wonderfully delicious! The food is yummy. Kind of expensive but still very fancy. You have wonderful waiters and waitresses. You feel like you are in an old lighthouse.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“A great historic stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stopped in here for a few drinks after dinner, it was a great stop! The service was prompt, the decor was excellent, and the prices were decent. For anyone who loves trains and their history, you should for sure stop here, very cool!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freight House also viewed

 

Been to Freight House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freight House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.