We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe

Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe
222 Pearl St, La Crosse, WI 54601
+1 608-796-2277
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 169 Restaurants in La Crosse
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
La Crosse, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

It's always a happening spot and a fun place to eat. The staff is great and the food is delicious! The portions are comparable to prices and you can eat free on your birthday! :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    99
    15
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We were in route to Chicago in our road trip around the country. Found this place thru trip-advisor. Nice look of the place. We had for dinner soup, tilapia and alligator dinner. Great food, nice and polite workers. If you are looking for a place to eat in La Cross Wisconsin must go to this cafe! Super!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Being a TripAdvisor devotee, I had selected Buzzard Billy's in downtown LaCrosse. Featuring cajun cuisine, it was a true delight. She Who Must Be Obeyed had blackened Tilapia and I went with an old favorite Andouhle sausage. The slaw had some horseradish and a real kick. My side of red beans and rice had a nice kick to it, hot enough to get your attention but far from nuclear. Reasonably priced and I would eat there again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“All around great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great food, great atmosphere, great staff what else can one say all the makins of a good time and a great reason to return Oh and did I mention the best T Shirts in toown, I been collecting them for 20 yyrs You should go just for the name

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Fun, Casual , Cajun specialties, but good other options as well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We were traveling with friends on motorcycles up and down the Mississippi and stayed in LaCrosse on a Sunday night. Many restaurants were closed, so our options were limited.

I chose Buzzard Billy's as one of our options because one of our traveling companions is a huge fan of Cajun food! That being said , neither my husband or I are, but I had checked the menu and saw many other options.

I had one of the best Chicken quesadilla's I've ever had! Chocked full of large pieces of chicken and peppers, and the salsa was very tasty.My husband had shrimp wrapped in bacon he thoroughly enjoyed and our Cajun loving friend had a craw fish platter he thought was excellent.

Buzzard Billy's is a fun causal place, with good food, Cajun and otherwise, and prices were very reasonable.

We had hoped to check out the upstairs starlight lounge after dinner, but it was closed on Sunday night.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buzzard Billy's Flying Carp Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.