We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Tier Courses” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackwolf Run

Blackwolf Run
1111 West Riverside Drive, Kohler, WI 53044
920-457-4446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 attractions in Kohler
Type: Golf Courses
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Award-winning 36 holes of challenging golf consists of two 18-hole, Pete Dye-designed layouts: River Course and Meadows Valleys Course.
White Plains, NY
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Top Tier Courses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After playing Whistling Straits and the Irish courses you'd think these two would be disappointing, but both of these courses are challenging and rewarding in their own ways.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well designed course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This course is well designed so that many levels of golfers can enjoy it. It is located next to the river and offers amazing views and tee shots. It was a pleasure to play and I actually did better than I thought I would given the many places to lose a ball.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Two great courses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Part of our package deal (Whistling Straits). Excellent golf courses with Pete Dye's diabolical greens. Really enjoyed the courses. We didn't have caddies and didn't really need them. Very enjoyable. Lots of rough. Very similar to the 2013 U.S. Open, only larger fairways. The only reason I didn't rate it a 5 was Whistling Straits is a cut above.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great service - Okay food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The restaurant in the Blackwolf Run Clubhouse has a comfortable, casual feel. We had a table with a gorgeous view. Our server was great! Being in Wisconsin on a Friday, we were compelled to order the "fish fry" - big mistake. It was mediocre at best. I am giving my review 4 stars because of the service, ambiance & view, and I am guessing there are other much better items to choose from on the menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best fairways and greens I have played”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We played Meadows and River courses over two days and they kicked our butts. We lost a ton of balls and I think that is pretty normal for the "average" player out here. The courses were amazing. I have played in some pro ams and these fairways and greens were in better shape than anything I have ever seen. You had better be IN the fairway or you were screwed. There is not much or shuold I say any forgiveness if you were not. Definatey a demaning layout and built for a better golfer but the experience alone should make up for you losing a handful of golf balls. Play these courses first and finish your trip at Whisteling Straits. Well worth the time and effort to get there.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackwolf Run? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackwolf Run, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Blackwolf Run to your Saves list