We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girlfriends' Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Woodlake

Save Saved
You added Inn on Woodlake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn on Woodlake
705 Woodlake Rd, Kohler, WI 53044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kohler
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Girlfriends' Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Up for a spa weekend? The American Club looks fab, but save some money for Kohler Waters spa services by staying at the Inn on Woodlake instead. One tip, however - the two beds were doubles, not queens, so not ideal for two people who are not partners to share, especially if they are active sleepers! Other than that, the room has a nice clean modern decor and the shower is luxe = 5 shower heads - two up high, three at body level. The hotel serves a simple but warm breakfast buffet (included) and there is a nice common area with tables and chairs surrounding a fireplace. Despite the fact that the hotel seemed full, we sat by the fire with some wine and salads from the neaby deli on a Friday night and had the area to ourselves. Finally, our room was close to the breakfast/common area yet we were not disturbed/distracted by the noise of breakfast, which was a relief.

From the hotel you can walk or take a shuttle to the spa, and the spa is pretty fabulous. The hotel is also directly adjacent to a strip of boutiques/shops, which also includes a restaurant, bar, and cafe/chocolate shop.

The staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful. The price of the hotel is quite reasonable for the quality of the room and entire building, and while the amenities onsite are limited, you have access to an amazing fitness club and are fairly close to the spa and resort restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    80
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
57
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed here 2 nights. This hotel is modern, clean and very comfortable. The best part of this stay was the shower. Kohler Bath products live up to their reputation. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel or my stay. If you stay here you will have to check out the Kohler Design Center down the road all though you might have to renovate your home after with all the ideas you'll come up with.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I decided to visit Kohler as a pre- Valentine's Day celebration. I initially booked at the American Club and had a full spa package (totaling about $1100). After thinking about it, I decided we should be able to take this trip without spending an arm and leg. I decided to cancel the spa and book our room at the Inn of Woodlake- I would like to say this is the best thing I could have done and it saved us a ton of money. We visited the American Club for lunch and I was not impressed because of the dated decor and stuffy atmosphere. The Inn of Woodlake was current but cozy. We drove into the next town over to get pedi/mani and it only cost us $70. If you are on the fence between the two place I would suggest staying at the Inn of Woodlake and making the best of it without the steep spa prices.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a nice shower- Inn of Woodlake is the place (note, there is no bathtub)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Obviously, Kohler is a very high-end travel destination, to which you are likely 'needing' to go to, or otherwise know why you are going. "The Inn" will not disappoint in any facet of accommodations, food or peace-and-quiet. The servicemen and women were all stelar, with exception to the front desk staff, which I found to be quite sterile and disinterested.
There are a couple quaint, boutique type shops around the area that are very pricey. You'll not want to leave without a visit to The Craverie (Kohler's world renown chocolate shop), and if you get the chance to meander around The Village of Kohler itself, you may never want to leave. Additionally, Kohler does some type of activity for all holidays that are full nostalgia - try to experience one.
A beautiful piece of the U.S. by all accounts.

Room Tip: This is a very small hotel, I dare say you can't have a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently spent a night at Inn on Woodlake for business and it was the perfect location. I had gotten in earlier then expected and was happy to enjoy some of the Kohler Resort. My room was spacious and had a great view of the private lake which was beautiful in Winter. One of my favortie thigns in the room as silly as it may sound was the TV speakers in the bathroom and the GREAT SHOWERS.
The staff was great at check-in and the breakfast offered was more than your typical continental. I can't wait to return to this hotel and hopefully explore more of the quaint town and amazing resort!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was trying to plan a romantic getaway for my Girlfriend and I but it just didn't turn out to be romantic. From the websites description i was picturing a romantic inn on the side of a lake. What it is in fact, is a really nice upscale "Holiday Inn" that is next to a pond but attached to a strip mall. Not exactly romantic. That said, it was a very clean and comfortable place to stay. If you are looking for more romance then go to the American Club.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Wayyyy better than American Club if your younger and want a updated and fresh stay. Continental breakfast was great. Pool and spa is not on site so you have to take a shuttle which isn't the worst thing but kind of inconvenient. Our room was awesome but when we came home from the spa we got to our room to find the door slightly open after the cleaning staff was there. Nothing was missing but we had a lot of valuables in there. Not a good thing to see :/ front desk gave us a free dessert at whistling straights that night which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Woodlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Woodlake

Address: 705 Woodlake Rd, Kohler, WI 53044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shore of picturesque Wood Lake, this serene 121-room hotel boasts boutique style guest rooms, ample meeting space as well as amenities and common areas for leisure and business travelers. During your stay, visit The Shops at Woodlake located next to the Inn, explore the Kohler Design Center or dine at Cucina Italian restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Woodlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Woodlake Hotel Kohler
Hotel On Woodlake
On Woodlake Hotel
Inn On Woodlake Kohler, Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Woodlake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.