We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Resort - you will love your stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The American Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The American Club to your Saves list
The American Club
419 Highland Drive, Kohler, WI 53044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Top Notch Resort - you will love your stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our stay was one of the best weekend vacations we have ever taken. The resort is charming and the staff everywhere we went treated us like royalty. We golfed the award winning River course at Black Wolf Run and were not disappointed - it is a beautiful, well designed course. The spa facilities are wonderful - you could spend a day just lounging there alone. And our 5 course dinner with wine pairings at The Immigrant was the most enjoyable meal I have ever eaten. It was expensive compared to my family's normal standards but worth it - everything was simply excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear StacyinPort,

It sounds like you had a full weekend as your review notes many areas of our resort you were able to experience. It is lovely to read that no matter where you visited during your stay the team treated you like royalty. Our Chef in the Immigrant spends a lot of time and effort on our menu, it is his pride and joy. I will be sure he reads your review as it will certainly be the highlight of his day.

Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience.

Warm Regards,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    97
    45
    29
    14
See reviews for
54
290
14
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at the American Club was again very restful. The room is clean with old world charm and modern conveniences. The bell staff was prompt and courteous. We loved the spa. The check out process was not smooth and we didn't receive a written statement due to a "printer problem." Overall, very solid and we look forward to returning.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Bob B,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the problem you experienced at departure. Departure should be a quick and smooth transaction. I am very sorry this was your final memory of your stay.

It is a pleasure to read, however, that you look forward to returning. It is with great hope that your next stay starts and ends flawlessly!

Best Wishes,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here over our anniversary and our experience could not have been better. The atmosphere was exquisite, the staff was friendly and professional and everything about our stay exceeded our expectations. The rooms were gorgeous - like STUNNING, the restaurants are phenomenal and the spa was amazing. I really did not expect to love this place as much as we did but it was like a dream.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Rockydoo09,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent visit to The American Club on this review. I am so pleased to read that our team exceeded your expectations and you left feeling like you had a wonderful dream.

Kind Regards,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just spent a long weekend at The American Club with another couple. It was a golfing trip so we didn't use all of the amenities available at the hotel but we did try some of them. Kohler itself is pretty much in the middle of nowhere. Without the town, there's really nothing nearby. The town of Sheboygan is about 10 minutes.
Kohler is an odd town. Kind of like a super upscale Hershey, PA. Make billions on a business - build a town in tribute! That's Kohler. So yes, the reviews are true: all of the fixtures - everywhere - are Kohler. And yes, the showers are very nice in the rooms. We had multiple fixtures and body sprays. It was the best hotel shower I think I ever experienced.
The hotel is indeed clubby and is dark and conservatively decorated. It is fairly quiet - doesn't seem like a good place for kids, and the hallways are long and dark too. But it is a unique property - no mistaking it for a chain, and the service is generally very good. Typical of the midwest, even if they can't deliver - they are super polite about it.
The rooms were ok, not great. They were standard size for a USA hotel, decorated nicely (two sinks - one in the bath and one in the hallway - all with Kohler fixtures of course), but they were dark. Our room backed on to a side street with about 50 other rooms on the same row, and the windows were oddly places above eye level and almost like portholes on a cruise ship. So it never really got light in the room. No matter - we didn't spend much time there anyway.
The pub was excellent. Outstanding choice of beers and drinks and a lively atmosphere each of the three times that we were there. Try the cheese curds here. We tried them everywhere in Wisconsin on our trip and we all thought these were the best.
The other restaurant that we ate at was a seafood buffet. It was pretty good and well priced. Nothing special but fine.
I also had a massage at the spa which was clean, modern and had great therapists.
My only complaint - and it's not really a complaint, was the cost. The hotel and the amenities were super pricey for a resort just outside of Sheboygan, Wisconsin. For the 3 days that we stayed at The American Club, we received a bill of about $4000. Now that included 3 rounds of golf for two people (part of a package), but still... that's expensive for a "very good" resort in a rural part of the midwest. For instance, my 50 minute massage, was $180 including gratuity. Even in lowly NYC, I can get a fantastic massage for less than $100 at a nice place and less than that at many others that might not be as nice. The hotel also tacked on a "resort fee" which is something that I thought hotels stopped doing in the '90s. This is basically an extra fee because you are staying at the hotel and have access to all of the great amenities (which cost extra anyway). So... great service, unique property, fun time -- not great value.

Also, not much else to do in Kohler except spend money in the company owned town -- if you're not a golfer looking to pay homage to the unbelievable Pete Dye courses here, I wouldn't recommend it. But if you need to play these courses (and they are fantastic) -- The American Club is the only game in town, and I guess they know it.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room with a little more sunlight - maybe a room facing the front or the courtya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear glbtrvler,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was a pleasure to read about the quality of service the team provided you. The American Club is, as you noted, is a very unique building. We were built in 1918 to house immigrant workers coming to American to start a new life working at the Kohler Company. The building is Tudor design and is also on the National Register of Historic places.

I am so pleased to read you have awarded the Horse and Plow with the best cheese curds in Wisconsin. The team has created the secret batter recipe and every cheese curd is made by hand.

You are correct, during summer golf is our most popular reason for staying at our resort. There are many other unique things to do and our concierge team is ready and willing to create memorable stays for every guest. I am confident they can customize a wonderful stay for any guest, golfing or not.

We do have a second hotel on our resort property, The Inn on Woodlake, which offers a much different feel and design. We have the two properties, so that we can provide our guests with options. A guest can select our Five Star Luxury property, The America Club, or our contemporary property, The Inn on Woodlake, trading some of the Five Star luxuries such as bell service and turn down, for a buffet breakfast, on property putting green and beach. Perhaps on your next stay this property might be one you would like to try! You will still have access to all the resort amenities at either hotel.

Best wishes,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We've stayed in many very nice hotels....Ritz Carlton's all over the place, Four Seasons, etc, and The American Club is as good if not better than any of those we have stayed in. The place is just vintage in it's design and feel, and the quality of the materials everywhere...lobby, hallways, rooms, bathrooms...is just remarkable. We stayed here with our two young sons and had a wonderful time. The sports club is very nice, and our boys enjoyed the pool and the lake. The food at Black Wolf Run restaurant was excellent. And, my wife and I indulged in a massage that was exceptional. The spa here is outstanding...the best we have been in, and that is comparing it to some Ritz property spas. And the staff everywhere...hotel, restaurant, spa...are so nice and friendly. This was our first trip to The American Club, but is most certainly not our last. What a treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear ibetrippin,

What an honor to be compared to other wonderful properties such as the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons. You pay us a great compliment by noting our quality is on par with both. On behalf of the entire team, thank you so much.

We are so pleased to learn your family had an enjoyable stay, including time spent at our Sports Core health club. The beach is such a fun place for families to relax or splash.

We look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crozet, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Kohler is a charming village, and The American Club is a nice place to stay. The multi-headed shower in the bathroom was the best part of our room in the back of the hotel, and the gym, which is about a half mile away, is state of the art, as are the golf courses. For the cost, I would expect larger rooms, exercise classes at no additional cost, and perhaps some other interesting perks, but I suspect the price point works for them. Not sure I would choose to go back, but it worked for a three day professional meeting getaway.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear P513,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at The American Club. It is wonderful to learn that you were able to enjoy some of our resort amenities, while visiting for a professional meeting.

I could not agree more about the guest room showering experience. I find many guests share that the hardest part of their stay was actually getting out of the shower!

On our website we accurately list the square footage range of every category of room. Being a historic property, you are correct, our rooms are modest in size. Therefore, we include guest room size on our website to be transparent to our guests.

While you might not return, I do hope that you will have wonderful memories of the time you spent with us.

Best Wishes,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We celebrated our anniversary and my 75th birthday over the 4th of July weekend. Dining in their highly rated Immigrant Room was to be the highlight of the weekend. Reservations had been made weeks ahead and when I went to confirm two days ahead found that they had put us in a different restaurant and that there was no room in the Immigrant Room. We were most disappointed and shared this at check in. They were on it immediately and had the issue perfectly resolved in 5 minutes.

Notwithstanding that glitch, the American Club is the nicest resort in the Midwest. Service is superior, the hotel and gardens are in pristine conditions, their Sports Core/beach is outstanding and their 4 golf courses are rated in the top 100 in the U.S. in courses that anyone can play.

Room Tip: They have converted many rooms to shower only and my intuition is that the rooms with baths are les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine L, General Manager at The American Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear jaylytle,

Thank you so much for selecting The American Club to celebrate such special occasions. Happy birthday to you and happy anniversary to you both!

While our team works very hard to deliver flawless guest service and experiences, we do recognize mistakes will happen. The most important thing we stress is how we recover from those mistakes. It is a pleasure to read that the team rallied and the crisis was averted.

Wishing you many more memorable birthdays and anniversaries,

Kind Regards,
ChristineL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The American Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The American Club

Address: 419 Highland Drive, Kohler, WI 53044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kohler
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kohler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The American Club is a Forbes Five-Star Resort Hotel and the Midwest’s only AAA Five Diamond Resort Hotel providing unique, luxurious decor that with a singular quality experience room by room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your The American Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The American Club Hotel Kohler
American Hotel Kohler
The American Hotel
American Club Wisconsin
American Kohler
American Club In Kohler Wi
American Club Kohler Wi
The American Club Kohler, Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The American Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.