We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak Country Pub and Pantry

The Royal Oak Country Pub and Pantry
Oaklands Lane, West Lavington GU29 0EP, England
+44 1730 817478
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: This Beautiful 17th Century pub boasts a strong historical heritage with large gardens and stunning views of the South Downs. Our team extend a warm welcome to you at The Royal Oak in West Lavington, Midhurst. Located a short distance from the Goodwood Estate near Chichester and the Cowdray Estate near Midhurst, this rural village is the ideal setting for our charming English Country pub. The perfect spot for a splendid escape to enjoy British Cuisine, Cask Ales, Delicious Wines and our log fire burner for those cosier nights. We proudly source from local producers and foragers, changing our menus to suit the availability of "in season" fayre from field to fork.
midhurst
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The Royal Oak has just opened again with new owners. We were praying for this pub/restaurant to be good as it has had a few dubious owners of late. But it has turned out to be a really lovely pub with good food and great staff. We would recommend this pub to anyone. Would like to see the garden looking a bit better but i believe the owner is going to deal with this in the future. Great local now.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    16
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Theydon Bois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We visited here last Saturday with our friends who live in Midhurst, great menu, reasonable prices, between us we had goats cheese tart and poached egg and bacon on bubble and squeak for starters and for main we had the belly pork, beef and ale pie and confit of duck for main. We all tried one of the really yummy deserts. None of us had any complaints it was all really good. would recommend this pub to anyone and we will be returning soon.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic Sunday lunch with our family service was great and very child friendly we recommend this pub to anyone wanting good home cooked food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Midhurst!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We've been down to Midhurst from London a few times and tried most of the other restaurants and pubs, but this has to be the best food. I had the special which was a venison tartare which was to die for. The other food, wine and service were equally good. And all this for a fraction of the cost of a mediocre meal in London. Big thumbs up to this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Best restaurant standard food but in a pub !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

The food in this gastro pub has to be seen to be believed. I've now eaten her three times and each time the food has been exceptional, and the draught beers on tap are changed frequently and also, like the food menu, offer an amazing variety.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak Country Pub and Pantry also viewed

Midhurst, West Sussex
 
Midhurst, West Sussex
 

Been to The Royal Oak Country Pub and Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak Country Pub and Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.