We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Cheese Place in Kenosha” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mars Cheese Castle

Mars Cheese Castle
2800 120th Avenue, Kenosha, WI 53144
(262) 859-2244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Nightlife in Kenosha
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“This is the Cheese Place in Kenosha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wide selection of Cheeses, Wines and imported chocolates. Really enjoyed just browsing around. Even has a liquor bar and a food court area with some of the best hand dipped ice creme, you will ever eat. Fun place no to be missed right on I-94.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    78
    34
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A tradition to not miss.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Cheese and other unique types of food. Easy to take with you if you are traveling. Good sandwiches and a fun place to see. You won't be able to leave w/o some goodies.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Second time changed my first impression”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Some work friends drove up from Chicago with me to check out the Castle we had seen previouly while passing by. We were a bit disappointed with the stinginess of the cheese samples having had a great experience at a location in Milwaukee. One of the guys and I decided to give it a second try. The employees were more than gracious at explaining and the differences, sharing samples, and making suggestions. We then ventured over to the bakery section and found the same. The selections of many items were outstanding. The employees were friendly and knowledgeable, and in the end the experience was so good, we all walked out with our share of what we liked. If you tried it once and are not sure if you should go back, go back. If you haven't tried it, go in. You will be amazed at the selections.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
228 attraction reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

First off, getting to it from the highway is a bit confusing. Once you get there, it's basically a grocery store with a couple cheese/cow related souvenirs for sale. Most of the stuff is overpriced and a typical local supermarket offers similar products for less. The castle/cheese theme is present, but not to the grade to be an attraction. So it's ok to stop by if you need something, but not worth a special trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tourist Attraction in Kenosha - also good cheese !!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Mar's Cheese Castle is a fun place to visit. If you are interested in buying a "cheesehead" or other Wisconsin tourist Paraphernalia, this is a MUST on your list of places to stop by. The cheese baskets and variety are very good. And of course, you have to stop in the restaurant for some good ole fashion Wisconsin dishes. You will see a replica of the famous "Leg Lamp" at the bar. It is a bit "spendy" but it's worth a stop on your way. Have fun and enjoy the "Castle"...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mars Cheese Castle also viewed

 

Been to Mars Cheese Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mars Cheese Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.