We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Downtown Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Mike's

Captain Mike's
5118 6th Ave, Kenosha, WI 53140-3404
262-658-2278
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 219 restaurants in Kenosha
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Used to just be a bar. It was bought by the owners of Uncle Mike's in Kenosha and is now Captain Mike's Beer & Burger Bar.
Kenosha, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Downtown Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

It's first and foremost a Bar, then a burger joint. Rarely is the service great if there are more than 10 patrons there... if it's crowded, patience is a major needed component. For the best service, don't sit at a table as there are no servers-- pull up at the bar and ask the bartender for the best menu items (mac n' cheese, kobe burgers etc.)

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    18
    14
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Burger Heaven with Beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife & I finally stopped in to Capt Mikes for a meal a couple weeks ago. I have heard great things about the place and was eager to give it a shot. Below are the Pros & Cons:
Pros:
Great food, I had the mac & cheese stuffed burger with bacon....amazing!
Lot's of beer choices.
Nice location, near lake Michigan.
Friendly staff.
Cons:
Definitely too small.
More of a "bar" atmosphere than a restaurant.
No table service, you have to order at the bar.
Parking can be an issue in the area since there are several establishments close by.

All that said, I'd rate it a 5 out of 5, overall, because I think the food itself was outstanding and I really like draft beer selections which they really nailed. It would be really great if they could somehow expand or find a larger building. Prob more of a "guys" place than a date night destination.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best burger I ever ate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just one word...YUMMMMMMMMMMYYYYYYYYY! I don't care which burger you choose from the extensive menu of burgers and toppings....they are ALL delicious! I am partial to the organic beef, but Kobe beef is just as good. And if you are craving some comfort food, make sure you order the mac & cheese! Awesome! Almost as good as my homemade mac & cheese! And trust me, that is saying a lot!!!! They have great food, fun atmosphere and plenty of choices when it comes to beer! I would say the only con here, would be the prices. It isn't inexpensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Total Mouth Orgasm!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My first time there and wont be my last. I had a Kobe burger to order. I have never had a burger this good! It was so good I wanted to make out with the cook :o)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Burgers and Mac, Does it get better?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The made-to-order burgers and mac are super yummy. Pay the extra money for the Kobe burger. Because it's made to order, be prepared to wait.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Mike's also viewed

 

Been to Captain Mike's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Mike's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.